The Wake Forest Series of Irish Poetry, Vol. I, 1

The Wake Forest Series of Irish Poetry, Vol. I, 1

4.25 (4 ratings by Goodreads)

List price: US$17.95

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


The Wake Forest Series of Irish Poetry, Volume I is a representative anthology meant to introduce to a broader audience a number of Irish poets, some young, some in their prime, who have not appeared widely before in North America. From the burgeoning economic realities of the "Celtic Tiger" to the burden of religious and political realignment, from urban scenes to historical landscapes, these poets sensitively record the effects of writing in a society that has shifted dramatically in the last decades; however, they do not write solely from historical or social contexts, but also out of psychological compulsions or in a mythic mode. Whatever their subject, they write with an awareness of the formal traditions and tensions of Irish poetry. Featuring poetry by Harry Clifton, Dennis O'Driscoll, David Wheatley, Sinéad Morrissey, and Caitríona O'Reilly; Edited and with an introduction by Jefferson Holdridge.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 231 pages
  • 140 x 230 x 17mm | 336g
  • English
  • 1930630204
  • 9781930630208

Rating details

4 ratings
4.25 out of 5 stars
5 75% (3)
4 0% (0)
3 0% (0)
2 25% (1)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X