the princess saves herself in this one
32%
off

the princess saves herself in this one

3.98 (17,059 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

Winner of the 2016 Goodreads Choice Award, the princess saves herself in this one is a collection of poetry about resilience. It is about writing your own ending. From Amanda Lovelace, a poetry collection in four parts: the princess, the damsel, the queen, and you. The first three sections piece together the life of the author while the final section serves as a note to the reader. This moving book explores love, loss, grief, healing, empowerment, and inspiration.the princess saves herself in this one is the first book in the "women are some kind of magic" series. * Within two months of its release, the self-published version sold over 5,000 copies in the US. * 141 glowing reviews on Amazon, 90% of which give a five-star rating. * Will appeal to fans of Rupi Kaur, Lang Leav, and other poets. * Winner of the Goodreads Choice Award for Best Poetry in 2016. * Over 10K copies sold in the UK since March 2017 (03/08/2017).show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 208 pages
  • 152 x 229 x 13mm | 277g
  • Andrews McMeel Publishing
  • Kansas City, United States
  • English
  • 144948641X
  • 9781449486419
  • 443

Review quote

"14 New Books You Definitely Need to Have on Your Radar in February [2017]" (Ryan Roschke, PopSugar) "18 Literary Quotes Every Feminist Needs to Read Right Now" #5 "the only thing / required / to be / a woman / is to / identify as one. / - period, end of story." (E. CE Miller, Bustle) "15 Books You'll Want To Read Over And Over Again" (Zoraida CA(3)rdova, Bustle) "The perfect poetry opener for any fairytale lover and feminist..." (Kerri Jarema, Bustle) "Similar in style-written in straightforward and uncomplicated verse, and content-grappling with themes of female power, love and loss, failure and redemption, pain and healing, poet Amanda Lovelace's The Princess Saves Herself in this One is similar to Kaur's Milk and Honey in another way as well: both books were self-published before going completely viral among readers." (E. CE Miller, Bustle) "This is the book to read if you are on the path to writing your own ending and finding yourself, even when the road to accomplishment is rocky." (Dominique Etzel, Alloy) "...Amanda Lovelace dives into the topics of modern feminism and empowerment...Read if you've ever thought about love, loss, who you are, and what you want. (So...all of us.)" (Abigail Yonker, The Everygirl) "As a whole, the collection acts as a tribute to all women who have ever needed a boost of empowerment and inspiration." (Madison Breaux, V Magazine) "It blends fairy tale lore with real-life musings for a beautiful result." (Lindsay E. Mack, Romper)show more

About Amanda Lovelace

growing up a word-devourer & avid fairy tale lover, it was only natural that amanda lovelace began writing books of her own, & so she did. when she isn't reading or writing, she can be found waiting for pumpkin spice coffee to come back into season & binge-watching gilmore girls. (before you ask: team jess all the way.) the lifelong poetess & storyteller currently lives in new jersey with her fiance, their two moody cats, & a combined book collection so large it will soon need its own home. as of 2016, she is working towards her b.a. in english literature with a minor in sociology. the princess saves herself in this one, originally published in 2016, is her debut poetry collection. her official website is amandalovelace.com. you can also find her as ladybookmad on twitter, instagram, & tumblr. (she hasn't quite figured out snapchat yet.)show more

Rating details

17,059 ratings
3.98 out of 5 stars
5 43% (7,315)
4 28% (4,819)
3 17% (2,927)
2 8% (1,301)
1 4% (697)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X