Sophocles Plays: "Ajax", "Women of Trachis", "Electra", "Philoctetes" v.2

Sophocles Plays: "Ajax", "Women of Trachis", "Electra", "Philoctetes" v.2

4.14 (5,833 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Translated by  , Translated by  , Introduction by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 11-14 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.


Sophocles' greatest plays reissued in the new Classical Greek Dramatists series. Introduced by series editor J Michael Walton Includes the surviving complete plays: Ajax which plots the downfall of Odysseus's greatest Trojan enemy - who slaughters a whole herd of cattle before killing himself; Women of Trachis in which the seemingly docile Deianira prepares a lethal homecoming for her womanising husband Heracles; in Electra the son and daughter of the ill-starred Agamemnon plan their revenge on their usurping stepfather and mother and finally Philoctetes in which Sophocles brilliantly explores the themes of pain, love and the betrayal of trust.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 226 pages
  • 112 x 178 x 19mm | 164g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0413628809
  • 9780413628800
  • 1,540,323

Table of contents

Ajax; Women of Trachis; Electra; Philoctetes
show more

Rating details

5,833 ratings
4.14 out of 5 stars
5 43% (2,527)
4 33% (1,909)
3 20% (1,140)
2 4% (207)
1 1% (50)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X