Alexander McCall Smith Books

We have a wide range of Alexander McCall Smith books, writer of The No 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, the best-selling tales of wayward daughters and philandering partners. McCall Smith is one of the world's most beloved authors, bringing us the tales of intrigue from Botswana's only detective agency. where the characters are as intriguing as the cases in these witty and beguiling tales.

The No 1 Ladies' Detective Agency books in order

McCall Smith's Isabel Dalhousie Mysteries

The charming 44 Scotland Street series

The Professor Dr von Igelfeld Entertainments series

McCall Smith's quirky Corduroy Mansions series


Alexander McCall Smith children's books

From law professor to bestselling author

Alexander McCall Smith is a British writer who was raised in Zimbabwe. At age 17, he moved to Scotland to study law, earning his impressive LLB and PhD degrees before teaching at Queen's University Belfast. It was there that he entered and won a literary competition to write a children's book.

His first novel in the well-loved The No 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series was published in 1998, selling more than 20 million copies worldwide. Since then, McCall Smith has written more than 100 books and, in 2006, he was appointed CBE for his services to literature. Alexander McCall Smith books in order

Although best known for The No 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series, McCall Smith has written a number of other books and series which are excellent in their own right. Below we've listed the most popular series and where to start.

- Start with The No 1 Ladies' Detective Agency (1998), McCall Smith's first published novel and beginning of his most famous series which is currently 22 books long - and counting!
- Laugh out loud with the quirky Professor Dr von Igelfeld Entertainments series, starting with the short comic novel Portuguese Irregular Verbs (1997).
- Move onto the Isabelle Dalhousie Mysteries, beginning with The Sunday Philosophy Club (2004), with a total of 16 novels to work your way through.
- You'll then want to pick up the first novel of 14 in the 44 Scotland Street series, starting with 44 Scotland Street (2005), an episodic novel first published as a serial in The Scotsman.
- Finally, don't miss the Corduroy Mansions series, an online series published in serial form which has since been published in physical form, starting with Corduroy Mansions (2009).