Good Morning, Midnight
Ahorra
15%

Good Morning, Midnight : NOW THE MAJOR NETFLIX FILM 'THE MIDNIGHT SKY'

3,92 (16.590 opiniones de clientes de Goodreads)
By (author) 
Envío gratis Disponible. Entrega estimada a United States en 9-12 días laborables.
¿La dirección de tu pedido no está en United States? Click aquí.
Haz tu compra ahora para recibir tu pedido antes de Navidad en the United States Haz tu compra ahora para recibir tu pedido antes de Navidad en the United States

Descripción

NOW A MAJOR NETFLIX FILM 'THE MIDNIGHT SKY', DIRECTED BY GEORGE CLOONEY, STARRING FELICITY JONES AND GEORGE CLOONEY '

'A remarkable and gifted debut' Colson Whitehead, author of The Underground Railroad

'Fans of Emily St. John Mandel's Station Eleven and Kim Stanley Robinson's Aurora will appreciate the Brooks-Dalton's exquisite exploration of relationships' Washington Post

There is a particular beauty in silence, in being cut off from the world. Augustine, a brilliant, ageing scientist, is consumed by the stars. He has spent his entire life searching for the origins of time itself. He has now been left alone on a remote research base in the Arctic circle, all communication with the outside world broken down. But then he discovers a mysterious child, Iris, who must have hidden herself away when the last of his colleagues departed.

Sully is a divorced mother. She is also an astronaut, currently aboard The Aether on a return flight from Jupiter. This is the culmination of her career, the very reason for all the sacrifices she has made - the daughter she left behind, the marriage she couldn't save. When all communication goes silent, she is left wondering what she will be returning to.

Marooned in the vast silence of space and the achingly beautiful sweep of the Arctic, both Augustine and Sully begin to understand their place in the world, and what gives their life meaning. For only in the silence can we find out who we truly are.
ver más

Detalles del producto

  • Paperback | 272 páginas
  • 130 x 198 x 21mm | 244g
  • Weidenfeld & Nicolson
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 9781474600606
  • 19.800

Review Text

Ambitious . . . Brooks-Dalton's prose lights up the page in great swathes, her dialogue sharp and insightful, and the high-concept plot drives a story of place, elusive love, and the inexorable yearning for human contact . . . Memorable characters explore complex questions that resonate with the urgency of a glimpse into the void Publishers Weekly
ver más

Review quote

Ambitious . . . Brooks-Dalton's prose lights up the page in great swathes, her dialogue sharp and insightful, and the high-concept plot drives a story of place, elusive love, and the inexorable yearning for human contact . . . Memorable characters explore complex questions that resonate with the urgency of a glimpse into the void * Publishers Weekly * Beautiful descriptions create a sense of wonder and evoke feelings of desolation while Brooks-Dalton's heartfelt debut novel unfolds at a perfect pace as it asks readers what will be left when everything in the world is gone * Booklist * What does it mean to be isolated from the ordinariness of the everyday world, yet to find the extraordinariness of being close to another human being? . . . Lily Brooks-Dalton takes us on an emotional journey in this beautiful debut -- Yiyun Li, author of THE VAGRANTS A truly original novel, otherworldly and profoundly human . . . This beautiful story reminds us of our deep longing for connection-with those we love, with strangers, with ourselves -- Keith Scribner Good Morning, Midnight is a remarkable and gifted debut novel. Lily Brooks-Dalton is an uncanny chronicler of desolate spaces, whether it's the cold expanse of the universe or the deepest recesses of the human heart -- Colson Whitehead, author of THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD It takes a brave writer to leave the biggest questions unanswered, but Brooks-Dalton handles her unpulled threads masterfully. . . . We tend to think of the end of the world as a bombastic event, massive and rife with destruction. Good Morning, Midnight gives us a different look. . . . Technically, this could be considered a post-apocalyptic story, but the truth is that Brooks-Dalton has created something much more poignant. . . . Powerful and moving, Good Morning, Midnight is an exceptional example of the literary power of speculative fiction * The Maine Edge * What does it mean to be isolated from the ordinariness of the everyday world, yet to find the extraordinariness of being close to another human being? With imagination, empathy, and insight into unchanged and unchangeable human nature, Lily Brooks-Dalton takes us on an emotional journey in this beautiful debut * Yiyun Li * Good Morning, Midnight is a remarkable and gifted debut novel. Lily Brooks-Dalton is an uncanny chronicler of desolate spaces, whether it's the cold expanse of the universe or the deepest recesses of the human heart * Colson Whitehead *
ver más

About Lily Brooks-Dalton

Lily Brooks-Dalton was born and raised in southern Vermont. She moved to Ireland when she was seventeen then worked her way around the world for three and a half years. She is currently doing an MFA in Portland, Oregon, and has won numerous scholarships for her writing.
ver más

Opiniones de clientes

(16.590 opiniones)
3,92 de 5 estrellas
5 30% (4.949)
4 42% (6.956)
3 21% (3.418)
2 6% (950)
1 2% (317)
Opiniones de clientes de Goodreads
Goodreads es el sitio más grande del mundo para lectores con más de 50 millones de opiniones. Te mostramos millones de opiniones de clientes de Goodreads en nuestro sitio web para ayudarte a seleccionar tu siguiente libro. Cerrar X