Homelands
31%
off

Homelands : The History of a Friendship

4.22 (9 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 6-9 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

This book is about two unlikely friends. One born in 1970s Britain to Indian immigrant parents, the other arrived from Nazi Germany in 1939, fleeing persecution.

This book is about common ground. It is a story of migration, anti-Semitism, racism, family, belonging, grief and resilience.

This book is about the past and the present. It is about the state we're in now and the ways in which we carry our pasts into our futures.

This book is about homelands.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 368 pages
  • 144 x 220 x 34mm | 479g
  • Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Main
  • integrated b&w photos; Illustrations, unspecified
  • 1838852662
  • 9781838852665
  • 784,708

Review quote

An utterly engrossing story that spans the twentieth century, surveying otherness, family and belonging, but above all friendship. I could not stop reading this gorgeous book -- DENISE MINA Achingly beautiful * * Guardian * * A spellbinding story of triumph and tragedy, war and sanctuary, emigration and belonging. Fans of Sebald and De Waal are going to love this -- GAVIN FRANCIS Gripping . . . immersive * * Scotsman * * A deeply reflective and moving account of a remarkable friendship that bridges a century. Homelands is at once meditative and urgent, humane and journalistic. I learned so much in these pages, and yet couldn't stop smiling at the simple strokes: the love, the kindness, the unlikely places friendship blooms -- DINA NAYERI Extraordinary . . . personal and emotional . . . essential . . . Chitra Ramaswamy's and Henry Wuga's recollections would be compelling on their own, but by bringing them together we are encouraged to look at our own family history, and compare them with those of others. Homelands rightly proffers there is more that unites than divides * * Skinny * * Vivid storytelling * * Observer * * Homelands is dizzyingly ambitious . . . this profound, far-reaching novel journeys across continents and decades. Ramaswamy interweaves her family's history and Wuga's against a backdrop of their ongoing sorrows. There are moments when you wonder if she can sustain this trapeze act, but she swoops from setting to setting and decade to decade without ever losing her grip. Ramaswamy's grief floods the book, producing sentences that would rip your heart out * * Big Issue * * Surprising . . . unique * * Jewish News * * Praise for Expecting: Immediately, poignantly gripping . . . Laconic and magnificent * * Guardian * *
show more

About Chitra Ramaswamy

Chitra Ramaswamy is an award-winning journalist and author. Her first book, Expecting: The Inner Life of Pregnancy, won the Saltire First Book of the Year Award and was shortlisted for the Polari Prize. She has contributed essays to Antlers of Water, Nasty Women, The Freedom Papers, The Bi-ble and Message from the Skies. She is a TV critic for the Guardian, the restaurant critic for The Times Scotland, a columnist for the National Trust for Scotland and broadcasts regularly for BBC Radio Scotland. She lives in Edinburgh with her partner, two young children and rescue dog.

@Chitgrrl
show more

Rating details

9 ratings
4.22 out of 5 stars
5 56% (5)
4 11% (1)
3 33% (3)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X