The Burning Boy
39%
off
39%
off

The Burning Boy

3.63 (35 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-11 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

'Gripping' IAN RANKIN

A dead police officer. A murder that no-one wants to solve...

Dublin, 1986. The murder of an off-duty officer in Phoenix Park should have brought down the full power of the Dublin police force. But Kieran Lynch was found in a notorious gay cruising ground, so even as the press revels in the scandal, some of the Murder Squad are reluctant to investigate.

Only Detectives Vincent Swan and Gina Considine are determined to search out the difficult truth, walking the streets of nighttime Dublin to find Kieran's lovers and friends. But Gina has her own secret that means she must withhold vital evidence. When a fire rips through Temple Bar and another man is killed, she must decide what price she is willing to pay to find a murderer.

A gripping mystery that will keep you hooked until the final page, perfect for readers of Val McDermid, Denise Mina, Tana French and Adrian McKinty.

*** THE NEW NOVEL FROM THE AWARD-WINNING AUTHOR OF THE ROSARY GARDEN ***
________________________________________

PRAISE FOR THE SERIES

'A mesmerising tale of secrets and lies' - VAL MCDERMID

'As good as it gets' - DENISE MINA

'A terrific new gem of Irish noir' - SUNDAY TIMES
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 336 pages
  • 136 x 196 x 28mm | 240g
  • Viper
  • United Kingdom
  • English
  • Main
  • 1788164148
  • 9781788164146
  • 298,170

Review quote

A gay cop murdered. Two mismatched and awkward detectives on the case. Gripping -- Ian Rankin Period, pace, plot and pathos: once again Nicola White provides the lot * Sunday Times Crime Club Pick * A delicately constructed web in which the detectives' personal and professional lives intersect with their investigation to devastating effect... Where White goes from here is a matter of the keenest anticipation * Irish Times * Nicola White's 1986 Dublin and its more exotic characters are instantly recognisable to anyone around at that time, which adds spice to a well-told mystery * Irish Independent * Rich in atmosphere... refreshingly different... her best yet * Bookmunch * PRAISE FOR THE SERIES:
'A mesmerising tale of secrets and lies rising from the past to strangle the present -- Val McDermid As good as it gets: a debut shot through with the real, horrifying cruelty of true crime and a heart-race ending -- Denise Mina A terrific new gem of Irish noir * Sunday Times * Psychological nuanced and compassionate... gripping * Irish Times * A vivid thriller. Engrossing right up to its sombre resolution * Irish Independent * A moving, intelligent and courageous book -- AL Kennedy This superb, pitch-perfect debut is a compulsive, page-turning crime novel, a haunting slab of Irish family gothic and a moving study of a young woman coming of age in a society deeply unsympathetic to women -- Declan Hughes Infused with depth, darkness and acute psychological drama * Herald *
show more

About Nicola White

Nicola White won the Scottish Book Trust New Writer Award in 2008 and in 2012 was Leverhulme Writer in Residence at Edinburgh University. Her novel The Rosary Garden won the Dundee International Book Prize, was shortlisted for the McIlvanney Prize, and selected as one of the four best debuts by Val McDermid at Harrogate. She grew up in Dublin and New York, and now lives in the Scottish Highlands.
show more

Rating details

35 ratings
3.63 out of 5 stars
5 20% (7)
4 37% (13)
3 31% (11)
2 9% (3)
1 3% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X