The Seven Ages of Britain

The Seven Ages of Britain : From the coming of the Romans to the third millennium

By (author) 

List price: US$30.78

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


Hywel Williams tells the British story in its chronological, political and geographical entirety, from the Roman invasion of Britannia in the first century AD to the fast-changing, multi-ethnic Britain of the second decade of the third millennium, and from the building of Hadrian's Wall to the Scottish independence referendum of 2014.

Narrated in lucid and richly informative prose, and amplified by sixty capsule biographies of Great Britons from Bede to Brunel and from Dickens to Darwin, The Seven Ages of Britain is a sweeping and enthralling but intellectually serious journey across two millennia of British history. It is the perfect popular introduction to the key events and turning-points of our nation's past. As such it belongs on the bookshelf of any reader with a curiosity about our island's story.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 512 pages
  • 153 x 234 x 47mm | 1,072g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1x8pp colour illustrations
  • 1784080837
  • 9781784080839

Review quote


'This is a fascinating way to look at world history' Good Reads, on Days That Changed the World.

'A most interesting and worthwhile book' Val Barnes, on Days That Changed the World.

'Excellent and thought-provoking' TLS, on Emperor of the West.
show more

About Hywel Williams

Hywel Williams is a journalist and historian. Among his many books are Cassell's Chronology of World History, Fifty Days that Changed the World, Britain's Power Elites, Emperor of the West and The Age of Chivalry.
show more