The Mixed-Up Summer of Lily McLean
16%
off

The Mixed-Up Summer of Lily McLean

4.12 (40 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Lily's already got plenty going on living with a moody teenage sister, two feral brothers and a messy baby sister. Mum and Gran are stressed to the max, both dads are out of the picture and the cats aren't exactly pulling their weight. But when she starts getting mixed-up warnings not to go on holiday to the tiny, safe Scottish island of Cumbrae, her summer just gets weirder and weirder.
The thing is, whoever's talking to Lily doesn't even seem to know she's doing it. If she's a ghost, she's not a very good one. And there's something about her that Lily finds awfully, spine-tinglingly familiar. . .
Spend the summer with Lily McLean in this beautifully written, laugh-out-loud adventure by Kelpies Prize winner Lindsay Littleson.
show more

Product details

  • 9-12
  • Paperback | 192 pages
  • 130 x 198 x 17.78mm | 191g
  • Kelpies
  • Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1782501800
  • 9781782501800
  • 1,590,344

Review quote

'Admirably short and an easy read, but still full of everything that's important in life. And now I want to go to Cumbrae.'
-- Bookwitch
'Funny, beautifully written, original and finally extremely moving, this is young teen fiction at its best.'
-- Nicholas Tucker, Carousel
'This is an amazingly assured debut novel. Lindsay Littleson is a terrific writer, and I for one can't wait to see what she writes next.'
-- John K. Fulton, chimneyrabbit.com
'... a charming story set on the West Coast of Scotland. This is a perfect summer story all about families, friends and well some very weird happenings.'
-- Armadillo
'This is a gently thought-provoking book, beautifully paced and cleverly structured and it should be on the shelves of every junior school library. Four stars.'
-- Books for Keeps
'A summer read to be read at any time of year. 10/10'
-- Nayu's Reading Corner
'A gripping and exciting read that gets a big thumbs up from us.'
-- PoweredByReading.com
'... a fun and quirky read, ideal for fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Sarah Webb.'
-- Children's Books Ireland
'This book is a joy to read'
-- Iram, Forrester High, Teen Titles
'Brimming with imagination and beautifully written... a charming and engaging read. With plenty of humour and a lovely plot twist this is a great novel for anyone aged 9 and above.'
-- Christina Banach, Author of Minty
show more

About Lindsay Littleson

Lindsay Littleson is a primary school teacher in Renfrewshire, Scotland. Since taking up writing for children in early 2014 she has published a short story with Walker Books, in addition to winning the Kelpies Prize with her first children's novel, The Mixed-Up Summer of Lily McLean.
show more

Rating details

40 ratings
4.12 out of 5 stars
5 45% (18)
4 28% (11)
3 22% (9)
2 5% (2)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X