Summer of Secrets
16%
off

Summer of Secrets : A riveting and heart-breaking novel about dark secrets and dangerous romances

4.03 (650 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
4.03 (650 ratings by Goodreads)
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 5-8 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

The unforgettable novel from Nikola Scott about two women - born decades apart - each faced with the knowledge that a man in their lives is not what he seems... Perfect for readers of Dinah Jefferies and Kate Morton.

AN EBOOK BESTSELLER

'An atmospheric and gripping read' My Weekly

'Wonderful characters and a very moving storyline' Sun

'I was completely enthralled' Kathryn Hughes

'I loved this touching exploration of love and its capacity for consolation and destruction... compelling and satisfying ' Judith Lennox

August 1939

At peaceful Summerhill, orphaned Maddy hides from the world and the rumours of war. Then her adored sister Georgina returns from a long trip with a new friend, the handsome Victor. Maddy fears that Victor is not all he seems, but she has no idea just what kind of danger has come into their lives...

Today

Chloe is newly pregnant. This should be a joyful time, but she is fearful for the future, despite her husband's devotion. When chance takes her to Summerhill, she's drawn into the mystery of what happened there decades before. And the past reaches out to touch her in ways that could change everything...

What readers are saying about Summer of Secrets:

'An absolute joy... If you only read one book this year I recommend this one' 5 Star Amazon Reviewer

'Nikola Scott has a magical way of piecing her stories together and has done her characters proud with the way she has written their journeys. An emotionally charged, harrowing and majestic novel' Kaisha at The Writing Garnet

'Such an intriguing story with a balance of lighter and darker moments. Rich in detail and beautifully told. Five stars from me!' Rachel at Rae Reads
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 130 x 196 x 26mm | 240g
  • Headline Review
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • None
  • 1472241185
  • 9781472241184
  • 898,232

Review Text

Praise for Nikola Scott: 'A well-written, intriguing read full of family secrets... Brilliant' Fabulous
show more

Review quote

Praise for Nikola Scott: 'A well-written, intriguing read full of family secrets... Brilliant' * Fabulous * An intriguing twisting story with a lush opening and beautifully descriptive writing throughout. I loved it -- Dinah Jefferies, author of THE TEA PLANTER'S WIFE A delightful debut about family and secrets * Prima * A compelling family story... beautifully written... evokes vivid pictures of an English summer in the 1950s -- Sheila O'Flanagan An emotional and involving story * Woman & Home * Beautifully written * Daily Mail * A gripping family mystery told in lush, evocative prose -- Erin Kelly Compelling, atmospheric and beautifully written...trembles with family secrets. I adored it -- Victoria Fox Delightful...Beautifully written and hugely enjoyable * The People * Absolutely captivating -- www.josbookblog.co.uk Poignant -- www.bookphace.blogspot.co.uk A satisfying tale with characters you wont forget * Sunday Express * An atmospheric and gripping read * My Weekly * Wonderful characters and a very moving storyline * Sun * Had me captivated from page one right through to the end... Moreish, full of emotion, drama and beautifully written. Highly recommended!! -- Karen Mace * Books and Me * Nikola Scott has a magical way of piecing her stories together and she has done her characters proud with the way she has written their journeys. An emotionally charged, harrowing and majestic novel -- Kaisha * The Writing Garnet * I couldn't tear myself away.... A compelling read. Heartbreaking and emotional, tense and gripping. This was my first book I've read by Nikola but it most definitely won't be the last! -- Katie * Katie's Book Cave * The perfect book to lose yourself in.... I found myself completely absorbed in the lives of the sisters both past and present -- Jo * Over the Rainbow Book Blog * I really loved this book... The stories weave together seamlessly and are so cleverly aligned it is a joy to read -- Julie * A Little Book Problem * Summer of Secrets is a book about family and friendship, secrets, trust and love. A tense read at times, especially in the last chapters. I thoroughly enjoyed it -- Joanne * Portobello Book Blog * Nikola Scott has a real gift for writing sumptuous, atmospheric fiction, pulling you into her world immediately, keeping you captivated throughout and making it very difficult for you to want to let go by the end -- Beth * Bibliobeth * Impossible to put down, utterly compelling, brilliant writing. Highly Recommended! * Hot Brands Cool Places * I urge you to go out and buy your copy now. I finished it last night and it's all I can think about since... Emotionally charged, heartbreaking and beautiful -- Nicola * Novel Delights Book Blog *
show more

About NIKOLA SCOTT

Nikola Scott started her career in book publishing before she became a writer herself a decade later. Her acclaimed debut novel, My Mother's Shadow, was translated into over thirteen languages and became a long-running bestseller in Norway. Her second novel, Summer of Secrets, was also published widely around the world. Nikola lives in Frankfurt with her husband and two sons.
show more

Rating details

650 ratings
4.03 out of 5 stars
5 34% (218)
4 42% (270)
3 21% (135)
2 3% (20)
1 1% (7)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X