Perfect Lies
29%
off

Perfect Lies

3.76 (3,642 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

This explosive sequel to Mind Games, which New York Times bestselling author Holly Black called "a brutal, exciting gem of a book," is a lightning-fast, wickedly smart tale of two sisters trapped in a web of deceit--perfect for fans of Sara Shepard's Lying Game series. For years, Annie and Fia have been in an endless battle for survival against the Keane Foundation. Now the sisters have found allies who can help them escape. But Annie's visions of the future and Fia's flawless instincts can't always tell them who to trust. The sisters can only rely on each other--and even their extraordinary gifts may not be enough to save them.show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 233 pages
  • 142 x 212 x 28mm | 339.99g
  • Harper Teen
  • United States
  • English
  • 0062135848
  • 9780062135841
  • 408,337

Review quote

Suspenseful and smart. --Booklist"show more

Back cover copy

Annie and Fia are ready to fight back. The sisters have been manipulated and controlled by the Keane Foundation for years, trapped in a never ending battle for survival. Now they have found allies who can help them truly escape. After faking her own death, Annie has joined a group that is plotting to destroy the Foundation. And Fia is working with James Keane to bring his father down from the inside. But Annie's visions of the future can't show her who to trust in the present. And though James is Fia's first love, Fia knows he's hiding something. The sisters can rely only on each other--but that may not be enough to save them.show more

Our customer reviews

3.5 I wanted to read Perfect Lies because I enjoyed Mind Games, the first in the series. I liked Fia and Annie and their sisterly protective relationship and wanted to know what would happen next. The beginning was especially confusing for me because there was little to no recap and I did not remember many details from the first besides what I mentioned above. I was thrown a bit throughout the whole book because of the time jumps when it goes from one perspective to the other as well. But other than that, I was pleased to see that the love and fierce need to protect the other was still being developed and displayed in this one, even though the sisters are apart and working on same thing in different ways with different people. The new characters, especially Pixie really entertained me and I was glad for the distraction it provides for Fia, and how she keeps her on her toes as they form a friendship but Fia still has to decide if she can be trusted. I also really liked the romance that bloomed with Annie and a guy I won't mention or it will be a spoiler. They jumped to making out pretty quickly, or maybe it just seemed that way with the time jumps. But it didn't completely come from nowhere, and I think that it gave a lightness to the story where it is otherwise pretty dark. James is still a big enigma and I couldn't be sure if he could be trusted. I do know that he makes Fia feel both loved and comforted--happy, while at the same time unsure and wary of his motives and why he is gone all the time and what he may be keeping from her when he doesn't talk much. The action was nice and I like how they added a bit more on Annie's end by teaching her how to defend herself, something that I am wholeheartedly for especially when disabled or with a disadvantage. I figured it was also foreshadowing that she would use her new skills to help reunite her and Fia or to save a new friend. I will say that it kept my attention and it was a quick read. I feel like the ending was good, but I am hoping that there is another book, but not sure that there actually will be. I think that things were left a little open ended for me, even though you could argue that everything was tied up well enough. Bottom Line: Good sequel if a bit confusing.show more
by Brandi Kosiner (Brandi Breathes Books)
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X