How the Bridgerton Books Compare To The Hit Netflix Series

Book Depository Blog Banner Slim
The Bridgerton craze has swept the nation after the hit Netflix series was released on Christmas Day, 2020. Fans have become obsessed with the outfits, the music and, of course, The Duke of Hastings.

Bridgerton on page and screen

Bridgerton is an adaptation of the book series, written by author Julia Quinn. There are 8 books in total, with the first book, The Duke and I, becoming the inspiration for Season 1 of the Netflix series.

The books follow the Bridgerton siblings, 8 children who are alphabetically named; Anthony, Benedict, Colin, Daphne, Eloise, Francesca, Gregory, and Hyacinth. The family is navigating the 1813 social season in Regency London, with Daphne entering her first season and looking for true love.

Daphne is unimpressed with her potential suitors, but when she meets Simon, The Duke of Hastings, she is immediately drawn to him. Simon does not wish to marry, but knows that he must keep up appearances during the summer season. The two come to an agreement - they will pretend to court for the season. Inevitably, they start to develop feelings for one another, and this is where the love story begins.

How is the Netflix series different from the Bridgerton books?

Whilst the Netflix series is inspired by the Bridgerton books, there are many differences between the two, which fans of the books are likely to pick up. Here are five differences between the books and the Netflix series.

Marina’s storyline

In the book series, Marina is not introduced to the reader as a main character - instead, we learn of the tragedy surrounding her death. She is not a cousin of the Featheringtons; Marina is a distant cousin of the Bridgertons in the books. She was briefly married to the man who becomes Eloise’s love interest before her death - but we won’t spoil the plot!

The Duke doesn’t box

In the books, Simon (The Duke) doesn’t box. Instead of being a sportsman, he is portrayed as an intellectual, having graduated from Cambridge with a first in mathematics. He is still haunted by his relationship with his father, but he does not have boxing as an outlet for his frustrations.

Queen Charlotte

Queen Charlotte, played by Golda Rosheuvel, is not in the book series. However, she was based upon a real Queen, Charlotte of Mecklenburg-Strelitz, who was Queen Consort to King George III from 1761 to 1818. She may have been a Black Queen, however her lineage has been disputed. Queen Charlotte did love gossip, though - much like her namesake in the Netflix series.

Anthony knew about Daphne & Simon’s agreement

In the Netflix series, Anthony is fiercely protective of Daphne, and strongly disagrees with her courting the Duke. However, in the book series, Anthony knows about their agreement to court each other. He does tell them not to be alone together - but we all know that the two love birds couldn’t possibly comply. Anthony challenges the Duke to a duel, which we do see in the Netflix adaptation.

Lady Whistledown’s Identity

In the final episode of the Netflix series, Lady Whistledown’s identity is revealed (we won’t spoil it for you!) However, in the book series, her identity is not revealed until the 4th book. Producers have revealed this in the first season, perhaps to keep viewers gripped in season two, as Lady Whistledown attempts to keep her identity hidden.

Which order should I read the Bridgerton books in?

If you enjoyed the Netflix adaptation and need more Bridgerton in your life before the second season, there are eight books to get you through.

Here is the order of the Bridgerton book series:

The Duke and I (2000)
The Viscount Who Loved Me (2000)
An Offer From a Gentleman (2001)
Romancing Mister Bridgerton (2002)
To Sir Phillip, With Love (2003)
When He Was Wicked (2004)
It's In His Kiss (2005)
On the Way to the Wedding (2006)

The Duke and I

The Duke and I

An Offer From A Gentleman

An Offer From A Gentleman

About Julia Quinn

Julia Quinn started writing her first book one month after finishing university and has been tapping away at her keyboard ever since. The No. 1 New York Times bestselling author of more than two dozen novels, she is a graduate of Harvard and Radcliffe Colleges and is one of only sixteen authors ever to be inducted in the Romance Writers of America Hall of Fame. She lives in the Pacific Northwest with her family.

The Rokesbys

The Bridgerton Prequels

Bestsellers in Historical Romance