Zanna's Gift

Zanna's Gift : A Life in Christmases

3.73 (290 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$5.98

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

When the Pullman family lost their eldest son to an unexpected illness just before Christmas, it was devastating to all of them, but especially to four-year-old Suzanna. She shared a special bond with her big brother. A strangely gifted child, Zanna loved to draw, but Ernie was the only one who was able to see the pictures in the curious patterns she made. Sadly, he never saw the Christmas drawing she had made for him that year.
Suzanna grew up to be a famous artist, but to her family, that last painting she made for her big brother was her most important work.
This is the story of that gift, and how it inspired the Pullman family to keep alive the spirit of love, imagination, and hope for generations to come.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 144 pages
  • 104.14 x 170.18 x 12.7mm | 108.86g
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0765358352
  • 9780765358356
  • 933,329

Review quote

“Richards's prose is emotional but never overly sentimental. In the tradition of Richard Paul Evans's "The Christmas Box" and "The Locket", Richards' sure-to-be-classic tale is highly recommended for the Christmas season and all year 'round.” —"Library Journal" on "Zanna's Gift"
show more

About Orson Scott Card

Orson Scott Card is the author of the novels "Ender's Game," "Ender's Shadow," and "Speaker for the Dead." "Ender's Game" and "Speaker for the Dead" both won Hugo and Nebula Awards, making Card the only author to win these two top prizes in consecutive years. There are seven other novels to date in The Ender Universe series. Card has also written fantasy: "The Tales of Alvin Maker" is a series of fantasy novels set in frontier America; his most recent novel, "The Lost Gate," is a contemporary magical fantasy. Card has written many other stand-alone sf and fantasy novels, as well as movie tie-ins and games, and publishes an internet-based science fiction and fantasy magazine, "Orson Scott Card's Intergalactic Medicine Show." Card was born in Washington and grew up in California, Arizona, and Utah. He served a mission for the LDS Church in Brazil in the early 1970s. Besides his writing, Card directs plays and teaches writing and literature at Southern Virginia University. He lives in Greensboro, North Carolina, with his wife, Kristine Allen Card, and youngest daughter, Zina Margaret.
show more

Rating details

290 ratings
3.73 out of 5 stars
5 28% (81)
4 28% (82)
3 35% (102)
2 7% (19)
1 2% (6)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X