Your Destination Is on the Left
12%
off

Your Destination Is on the Left

3.83 (267 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"Emotional and sexy...I loved it!" --Miranda Kenneally, bestselling author of Catching Jordan
"Dessa is a winning and resilient heroine." --Elizabeth Wein, New York Times bestselling author of Code Name Verity
"A journey I would happily take over and over again." --Dahlia Adler, author of Just Visiting
"The fantastic, feminist novel I wish I'd had as a teen." --Jessica Spotswood, author of the Cahill Witch Chronicles
"A heartfelt--and at times, heartbreaking--exploration of finding yourself." --Stacey Kade, author of Finding Felicity
"An emotional, aesthetic, and hopeful journey to self-discovery." --Kirkus Reviews
"[T]he message of maintaining persistence, courage, and creativity is a worthy and welcome one for teen readers." --Booklist Seventeen-year-old Dessa Rhodes is torn between leaving her modern nomadic life and pursuing her dreams of becoming an artist in this fun, contemporary debut novel that's "perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson" (Ashley Poston, author of Geekarella).

Dessa Rhodes is a modern day nomad. Her family travels in an RV, their lives defined by state lines, exit signs, and the small communal caravan they call home. Among them is Cyrus, her best friend and long-time crush, whom she knows she can never be with. When your families are perpetually linked, it's too dangerous to take a risk on romance.

Instead, Dessa looks to the future. She wants to be a real artist and going to art school is her ticket to success and a new life. There's just one problem: she hasn't been accepted...anywhere. Suddenly her future is wide open, and it looks like she's going to be stuck traveling forever.

Then an unexpected opportunity presents itself: an internship working with a local artist in Santa Fe. Dessa struggles to prove to her boss--and herself--that she belongs there, but just as she finally hits her stride, her family suffers an unexpected blow. Faced with losing everything that she has worked for, Dessa has a difficult decision to make. Will she say goodbye to her nomadic lifestyle and the boy she loves? Or will she choose to never stop moving?
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • Hardback | 304 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 30mm | 370g
  • Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
  • United States
  • English
  • f-c jacket (spfx: uncoated stock + emboss)
  • 1481492128
  • 9781481492126
  • 722,686

Review quote

"Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Morgan Matson!"--Ashley Poston, author of GEEKERELLA "Dessa is a winning and resilient heroine."--Elizabeth Wein, New York Times bestselling author of CODE NAME VERITY "This is a journey I would happily take over and over again."--Dahlia Adler, author of JUST VISITING "Made me want to hit the open road and find my own little corner of the world all at once."--Ashley Blake, author of SUFFER LOVE "This is the fantastic, feminist novel I wish I'd had as a teen."--Jessica Spotswood, author of the Cahill Witch Chronicles "A heartfelt--and at times, heartbreaking--exploration of finding yourself."--Stacey Kade, author of FINDING FELICITY "[T]he message of maintaining persistence, courage, and creativity is a worthy and welcome one for teen readers."--Booklist "Emotional and sexy. . . I loved it!"--Miranda Kenneally, bestselling author of CATCHING JORDAN "I couldn't stop turning the pages."--Jaye Robin Brown, author of NO PLACE TO FALL "An emotional, aesthetic, and hopeful journey to self-discovery."--Kirkus Reviews "Imagine pieces of colorful shattered glass, scattered willy-nilly. Now imagine that someone has gathered those pieces and formed them into the shape of something exquisitely lovely: a heart. This book is that heart."--Lauren Myracle, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of ttyl "[A] convincing portrait of a blossoming artist facing relatable coming-of-age issues...Dessa's struggle to realize her dreams without hurting loved ones will resonate."--Publishers Weekly "This breezy summer read will appeal to most teens. Hand this to die-hard romantics and aspiring artists."--School Library Journal
show more

About Lauren Spieller

Lauren Spieller is an author and literary agent who lives in New York City with her husband. When she isn't writing, she can be found drinking lattes, pining for every dog she sees, or visiting her native California. Your Destination Is on the Left is her debut novel. Visit her at LaurenSpieller.com and follow her on Twitter at @LaurenSpieller.
show more

Rating details

267 ratings
3.83 out of 5 stars
5 29% (77)
4 34% (91)
3 30% (79)
2 7% (18)
1 1% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X