You Were Here

You Were Here

4.04 (1,094 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$17.99

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

You Were Here is a gripping, emotional novel perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon, Jennifer Niven, and Adam Silvera, that moves seamlessly from prose to graphic novel panels and word art poetry.

Jaycee is about to accomplish what her older brother Jake couldn't: live past graduation.

Jaycee is dealing with her brother's death the only way she can--by re-creating Jake's daredevil stunts. The ones that got him killed.

Jaycee doesn't expect to have help on her insane quest of urban exploration to remember Jake. But she's joined by a group of unlikely friends--all with their own reasons for completing the dares and their own brand of dysfunction:

Natalie: the ex-best friend
Bishop: the heartbroken poet
Zach: the slacker with Peter Pan syndrome, and...
Mik: who doesn't speak, but somehow still challenges Jayce to do the unthinkable-reveal the parts of herself that she buried with her brother.

From the petrifying ruins of an insane asylum to the skeletal remains of the world's largest amusement park, You Were Here takes you on an unforgettable journey of friendship, heartbreak, and inevitable change.

"You Were Here is wrenchingly beautiful in its honest and achingly accurate portrayal of grief and how it breaks us--and the way unconditional friendship puts us back together."--Jo Knowles, award-winning author of See You At Harry's and Read Between the Lines

"The urban explorers of You Were Here dive deep into the forgotten man-made spaces all around them--and their own feelings of loss, love, and fear. McCarthy deftly intertwines the characters' stories, filling them with authentic pain and heartache as well as soaring moments of grace and humor. I dare you to read it!" --Maggie Lehrman, author of The Cost of All Things
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 384 pages
  • 140 x 216 x 32mm | 590g
  • Sourcebooks Fire
  • Naperville, United States
  • English
  • 1492617040
  • 9781492617044
  • 1,700,607

Review quote

"Through razor-sharp wit, no-holds-barred momentum, and heart-wrenching twists, Cori McCarthy dares you to climb through the broken, abandoned wreckage of the past, stand on the edge of the world, and face something even scarier: the truth.
" - K.A. Barson, author of 45 Pounds (More or Less and Charlotte Cuts it Out
show more

Rating details

1,094 ratings
4.04 out of 5 stars
5 39% (423)
4 36% (393)
3 18% (201)
2 5% (56)
1 2% (21)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X