You Asked for Perfect

You Asked for Perfect

3.83 (3,878 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Wise' romantic' and painfully relatable.--Becky Albertalli, New York Times bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

From acclaimed author Laura Silverman comes a timely novel about a bisexual teen's struggle when academic success and romantic happiness pull him in opposite directions, perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Tamara Ireland Stone.

Ariel Stone has spent his life cultivating the perfect college résumé first chair violinist, dedicated volunteer, active synagogue congregant, and expected valedictorian. He barely has time to think about a social life, let alone a relationship...until a failed calculus quiz puts his future on the line, forcing Ariel to enlist his classmate, Amir, as a tutor.

As the two spend more time together, Ariel discovers he may not like calculus, but he does like Amir. When he's with Amir, the crushing academic pressure fades away on, and a fuller and brighter world comes into focus. But college deadlines are still looming. And adding a new relationship to his long list of commitments may just push Ariel past his limit.

In a time where academic pressure on stressed teens couldn't be higher, You Asked for Perfect is a story full of empathy, honesty and heart for anyone who has ever questioned the price of perfection.

The perfect present for readers who want: Books featuring anxiety for teensQueer romanceGay young adult fictionJewish representation

Praise for You Asked for Perfect:
An ALA Rainbow List Pick
2019 Books All Georgians Should Read List
2020 Georgia Author of the Year Awards Nominee
Chicago Public Library's Best Fiction for Older Readers List
Who can resist a heartfelt romance?--Booklist
Silverman's novel hit me straight in the heart... It was powerful enough to make me want to be a better--yet still imperfect--person.--Bill Konigsberg, author of The Music of What Happens
A coming-of-age novel that will charm readers with its relatable and diverse characters, quirky storyline, and interweaving of faith, queerness, and the everyday lives of seniors navigating the pressures of college applications, grades, and relationships. Heartwarming and engaging.--Kirkus
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 288 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 38mm | 294.84g
  • Sourcebooks Fire
  • Naperville, United States
  • English
  • 1492658278
  • 9781492658276
  • 86,519

Review quote

Appealing... who can resist a heartfelt romance? - Booklist
show more

Rating details

3,878 ratings
3.83 out of 5 stars
5 26% (1,024)
4 40% (1,536)
3 26% (1,019)
2 6% (249)
1 1% (50)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X