Yes Please
24%
off

Yes Please

3.8 (253,818 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

THE NEW YORK TIMES NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER In Amy Poehler's highly anticipated first book, Yes Please, she offers up a big juicy stew of personal stories, funny bits on sex and love and friendship and parenthood and real life advice (some useful, some not so much). Powered by Amy's charming and hilarious, biting yet wise voice, Yes Please is a book full of words to live by.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 130 x 196 x 26mm | 588g
  • Pan MacMillan
  • PICADOR
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Main Market Ed.
  • 1447283317
  • 9781447283317
  • 2,868

About Amy Poehler

Amy Poehler is an actress, comedian, and writer. She was a founding member of the comedy troupe Upright Citizens Brigade in New York City and a cast member on Saturday Night Live from 2001 to 2009, where she was nominated for two Primetime Emmy Awards. She currently stars as Leslie Knope on NBC's Parks and Recreation, for which she won a Golden Globe. Poehler lives in Los Angeles, and this is her first book.show more

Review quote

The funniest, smartest and frankest memoir I've ever read -- Doug Johnstone, Books of the Year 2014 Herald Required reading for all young women -- Best Books of 2014 Huffington Post A joy ... [Poehler] has particularly smart advice on how to ignore the internal whispers that give rise to self-loathing; it should be piped into the girls' changing rooms at every secondary school -- Books of the Year 2014 Evening Standard [A] bristlingly intelligent, guffaw-out-loud memoir ... Yes Please isn't a scan of the comedic brain so much as it is something far better-the full exposure of Poehler's funny and very magnanimous heart Elle Hilarious ... wickedly funny and razor sharp Observer Yes Please is what happens if you take the wit of Saturday Night Live, sprinkle it with the warmth of Nora Ephron and marinade it in the spirit of the best, most empowering women's magazine ... Poehler is that rare thing: wise without being bossy, smart without making you feel a bit stupid, funny without making you wince. And her book is like sitting in your kitchen with your best friend, drinking too much wine, laughing, crying and maybe doing embarrassing mum dancing Harper's Bazaar Half memoir, half advice column, and 100 percent wisecracking, sharp-as-hell, belly-laugh-making Poehler GQ Funny, wise, earnest, honest, spiritually ambitious ... a smart and funny woman who isn't either of those things all the time and doesn't mind admitting it because she thinks that's important LA Times [Amy Poehler] is simply one of the best things about the 21st century so far... one of this year's essential reads Stylist Ladies and gentlemen, allow me to introduce you to the only book I care about these days: Yes Please by Amy Poehler. Amy Poehler is an American actor, comedian and writer. She is also a mighty force for good... I know you're sick of celebrity memoirs, you're sick of female celebrities talking about feminism, blah blah blah. Well, that's just fine because Poehler's book is so much more than that. Poehler is the only person in the world other than Nora Ephron who can be funny about divorce (and she is so funny about divorce), and she is definitely the only person in the world from whom I will accept sex tips (and her sex tips are great). But most of all, she's super smart -- Hadley Freeman Guardian As brilliant and hilarious and adorable as the woman herself Marie Claire Life advice, personal anecdotes and a touch of sex all beautifully handled by the warmest US comedy goddess... Actually adorable Grazia Our favourite agony aunt... Witty, real-life advice Vogue A part-memoir, part-manual mashup of inspirational career counsel and laugh-out-loud sex advice Good Housekeeping Anyone who loves Amy Poehler's biting comedic style will love the SNL star's autobiography... hilarious Stylist Poehler's first book of personal stories and advice, in the vein of Tina Fey's Bossypants and Mindy Kaling's Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?... One of America's most beloved comics and actresses The Millionsshow more

Review Text

The funniest, smartest and frankest memoir I've ever read Doug Johnstone, Books of the Year 2014 Heraldshow more

Rating details

253,818 ratings
3.8 out of 5 stars
5 29% (74,225)
4 35% (89,398)
3 25% (64,299)
2 7% (17,674)
1 3% (8,222)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X