The Yellow Eyes of Crocodiles
27%
off

The Yellow Eyes of Crocodiles

3.53 (9,503 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Translated by  , Translated by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Le Divorce meets The Elegance of the Hedgehog in this hilariously entertaining mega-bestseller from France When her chronically unemployed husband runs off to start a crocodile farm in Kenya with his mistress, Joséphine Cortès is left in an unhappy state of affairs. The mother of two--confident, beautiful teenage Hortense and shy, babyish Zoé--is forced to maintain a stable family life while making ends meet on her meager salary as a medieval history scholar. Meanwhile, Joséphine's charismatic sister Iris seems to have it all--a wealthy husband, gorgeous looks, and a très chic Paris address--but she dreams of bringing meaning back into her life. When Iris charms a famous publisher into offering her a lucrative deal for a twelfth-century romance, she offers her sister a deal of her own: Joséphine will write the novel and pocket all the proceeds, but the book will be published under Iris's name. All is well--that is, until the book becomes the literary sensation of the season.
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • Paperback | 434 pages
  • 130 x 196 x 30mm | 417g
  • The Penguin Press
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Maps
  • 0143121553
  • 9780143121558
  • 103,503

Black Friday Deals Week

Check out this week's discounts for Black Friday Deals Week. Shop now .

Review Text

"A satisfying read."
-The Washington Post

"Bonjour, book lovers. Get ready for best-selling French author Katherine Pancol's American debut. It's a charmer about fortysomething sisters Iris and Josephine, who have taken very different paths in life but come together when each finds herself in need of a little reinvention. Read it and ouip."
-Daily Candy

"Lucky you! You're about to succumb to France's most irresistible writer! At the end of this delicious, tender, funny, heartwarming novel, you'll feel as if Iris and Joséphine are part of your family."
-Tatiana de Rosnay, New York Times bestselling author of Sarah's Key

"Thought Parisian women are perfect? Think again. A delicious treat about separation, sisterhood, and turning tables."
-Inès de la Fressange, New York Times bestselling author of Parisian Chic

"There is a gorgeous and invigorating zip and sparkle to the writing. You read it with a big smile."
-Elizabeth Buchan, New York Times bestselling author of Revenge of the Middle-Aged Woman

"No wonder Katherine Pancol's books are all bestsellers, reading her feels like coming home. Her characters become like friends and family members, and you long to know how they get on. The Yellow Eyes of Crocodiles has all the quirks, tensions, and belly laughs that family, friendship, and sisterhood can entail. It is touching, entertaining, and vibrant."
-Cécile David-Weill, author of The Suitors

"This multilayered well-paced tale will delight you with its entertaining cast of characters and madcap adventures from Paris to the wilds of Africa."
-Katharine Davis, author of Capturing Paris

"Pancol deftly manages the constellation of characters in a cleareyed, warmly funny tale."
-Kirkus

"Pancol's runaway French bestseller is a satisfying Cinderella story. . . . delicious."
-Publishers Weekly

"Riveting . . . Delicious morsels involving every family member compel attention in a title that will appeal to fans of Marian Keyes and Olivia Goldsmith."
-Booklist
show more

Review quote

"A satisfying read."
--The Washington Post "Bonjour, book lovers. Get ready for best-selling French author Katherine Pancol's American debut. It's a charmer about fortysomething sisters Iris and Josephine, who have taken very different paths in life but come together when each finds herself in need of a little reinvention. Read it and ouip."
--Daily Candy "Lucky you! You're about to succumb to France's most irresistible writer! At the end of this delicious, tender, funny, heartwarming novel, you'll feel as if Iris and Joséphine are part of your family."
--Tatiana de Rosnay, New York Times bestselling author of Sarah's Key "Thought Parisian women are perfect? Think again. A delicious treat about separation, sisterhood, and turning tables."
--Inès de la Fressange, New York Times bestselling author of Parisian Chic "There is a gorgeous and invigorating zip and sparkle to the writing. You read it with a big smile."
--Elizabeth Buchan, New York Times bestselling author of Revenge of the Middle-Aged Woman "No wonder Katherine Pancol's books are all bestsellers, reading her feels like coming home. Her characters become like friends and family members, and you long to know how they get on. The Yellow Eyes of Crocodiles has all the quirks, tensions, and belly laughs that family, friendship, and sisterhood can entail. It is touching, entertaining, and vibrant."
--Cécile David-Weill, author of The Suitors "This multilayered well-paced tale will delight you with its entertaining cast of characters and madcap adventures from Paris to the wilds of Africa."
--Katharine Davis, author of Capturing Paris "Pancol deftly manages the constellation of characters in a cleareyed, warmly funny tale."
--Kirkus "Pancol's runaway French bestseller is a satisfying Cinderella story. . . . delicious."
--Publishers Weekly "Riveting . . . Delicious morsels involving every family member compel attention in a title that will appeal to fans of Marian Keyes and Olivia Goldsmith."
--Booklist
show more

About Katherine Pancol

Katherine Pancol is one of France's best-known contemporary authors, with millions of copies of her books in print in thirty languages. She lives in Paris.
show more

Rating details

9,503 ratings
3.53 out of 5 stars
5 19% (1,787)
4 36% (3,406)
3 30% (2,826)
2 11% (1,055)
1 5% (429)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X