Yellow Brick War
24%
off

Yellow Brick War

3.82 (12,425 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?

Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

In this action-packed third book in the New York Times bestselling Dorothy Must Die series, new girl from Kansas Amy Gumm is caught between her home-and Oz. Perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer's Lunar Chronicles and Gregory Maguire's Wicked, Danielle Paige delivers a dark, high-octane reimagining of L. Frank Baum's The Wonderful Wizard of Oz.

My name is Amy Gumm. Tornadoes must have a thing about girls from Kansas, because-just like Dorothy-I got swept away on one too. I landed in Oz, where Good is Wicked, Wicked is Good, and the Wicked Witches clued me in to my true calling: Assassin.

The only way to stop Dorothy from destroying Oz-and Kansas-is to kill her. But I failed. Others died for my mistakes. Because of me, the portal between the worlds has been opened. And if I don't find a way to close it?

Dorothy will make sure I never go home again.

Now it's up to me to: join the Witches, fight for Oz, save Kansas, and stop Dorothy once and for all.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 304 pages
  • 135 x 203 x 17mm | 218g
  • HarperCollins
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0062280740
  • 9780062280749
  • 117,383

Looking for beautiful books?

Visit our Beautiful Books page and find lovely books for kids, photography lovers and more. Shop now .

Back cover copy

ONCE UPON A TIME, THERE WAS A GIRL FROM KANSAS NAMED DOROTHY.

She ended up in Oz, where the temptation of magic was too much for her. She let it change her--for the worse. She turned evil. But Dorothy isn't the only girl from Kansas.

My name is Amy Gumm. A tornado left me in a twisted version of Oz, where Good is Wicked, Wicked is Good, and the Wicked Witches clued me in to my true calling:

ASSASSIN.

Dorothy will destroy Oz--and Kansas--unless I kill her first. But I've made mistakes. Because of me the portal between the worlds has been opened. And if I don't find a way to close it? Dorothy will make sure I never go home again.
show more

Review quote

Praise for the DOROTHY MUST DIE series: "Readers of Baum's books will take special delight in seeing new twists on the old characters, and they will greet the surprise climactic turnabout with the smugness of insiders." -- Kirkus Reviews "Dorothy Must Die is kind of the ultimate in girl-powered literature. Here, women and girls are allowed to be anything." -- Nerdist.com "Gone are the days of rainbows, Lollipop Guilds and pretty much anything to sing about in a major key. For those willing to go on a quest with a heroine more attuned to our times than the Dust Bowl era, there's no place like it." -- USA Today "Paige doesn't hold back in this fast-paced action novel. Give this cinematic upper-YA novel to fans of A. G. Howard's Splintered, Frank Beddor's Looking Glass Wars, and TV shows such as Once Upon a Time and Grimm." -- School Library Journal "Paige delivers a solid, intense, and strange narrative that draws deeply on its source material." -- Publishers Weekly "Paige is creating a rather brilliantly twisted version of the familiar world of Oz." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "Paige has embellished upon the original Wizard of Oz story to create a completely new, even more bizarre Oz and cast of characters. Her world building is fascinating." -- Booklist "For anyone who likes a good story turned on its head, Dorothy Must Die is a must-read." -- Huffington Post "The Wizard of Oz as you've never seen it." -- Teen Vogue "Paige's world building is intriguing and effectively augments the original world created by L. Frank Baum." -- ALA Booklist
show more

About Danielle Paige

Danielle Paige is a graduate of Columbia University and the author of the New York Times bestselling Dorothy Must Die series. Before turning to young adult literature, she worked in the television industry, where she received a Writers Guild of America Award and was nominated for several Daytime Emmys. She currently lives in New York City.
show more

Rating details

12,425 ratings
3.82 out of 5 stars
5 27% (3,311)
4 38% (4,691)
3 28% (3,481)
2 6% (761)
1 1% (181)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X