The Year the Gypsies Came

The Year the Gypsies Came

3.62 (488 ratings by Goodreads)
  • Paperback
By (author) 

List price: US$9.75

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


Emily Iris looks forward to the times her parents welcome house guests to their family's unhappy home. As long as the visitors are there, her mother and father will put their quarrels aside. But one spring a family of wanderers - an Australian couple and their two boys - comes to stay, starting a chain of events that will shatter Emily's world forever. This book will appeal to readers of Jennifer Donnelly's "A Gathering Light" and Barbara Kingsolver's "The Poisonwood Bible". Presented on hardback publication, this fabulous first novel attracted stunning acclaim.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 288 pages
  • 119 x 209 x 22mm | 274g
  • Penguin Books Ltd
  • Puffin Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • 0141320923
  • 9780141320922
  • 995,813

Review quote

Wonderful ... This is a new book with an old and wise heart. It may well have the makings of a classic Guardian Beautifully, powerfully and compellingly written ... extraordinarily moving Sunday Times Realistically evoking the perspective of a child of the era, Glass spins a lyrical story that is at once heartbreaking and hopeful Time Out This outstanding first novel arcs beautifully to its terrible climax and is deeply moving Observer Every now and then a book comes along that's unusual, compelling and deeply absorbing yet is so tragically simple, it leaves an indelible trace on the memory. The Year the Gypsies Came is one of these Irish Independent
show more

About Linzi Glass

Linzi Glass was born in Johannesburg, South Africa, and moved to the United States as a young adult. She has published articles, and written plays, screenplays, short stories and now novels -- The Year the Gypsies Came and Ruby Red. She lives in Los Angeles with her teenage daughter, Jordan.
show more

Rating details

488 ratings
3.62 out of 5 stars
5 21% (103)
4 36% (178)
3 30% (145)
2 9% (43)
1 4% (19)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X