The Wrong Side of Right

The Wrong Side of Right

3.97 (6,283 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?


Fans of Sarah Dessen and Huntley Fitzpatrick will enjoy this smart debut young adult novel, equal parts My Life Next Door and The Princess Diaries--plus a dash of West Wing. Kate Quinn's mom died last year, leaving Kate parentless and reeling. So when the unexpected shows up in her living room, Kate must confront another reality she never thought possible--or thought of at all. Kate does have a father. He's a powerful politician. And he's running for U.S. President. Suddenly, Kate's moving in with a family she never knew she had, joining a campaign in support of a man she hardly knows, and falling for a rebellious boy who may not have the purest motives. This is Kate's new life. But who is Kate? When what she truly believes flies in the face of the campaign's talking points, she must decide. Does she turn to the family she barely knows, the boy she knows but doesn't necessarily trust, or face a third, even scarier option? Set against a backdrop of politics, family, and first love, this is a story of personal responsibility, complicated romance, and trying to discover who you are even as everyone tells you who you should be.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 416 pages
  • 139 x 210 x 27mm | 385.55g
  • Penguin Books India Pvt Ltd
  • Penguin Books India
  • New Delhi, India
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 014750984X
  • 9780147509840
  • 259,248

About Jenn Marie Thorne

Jenn Marie Thorne graduated from NYU-Tisch with a BFA in drama and quickly realized she was having more fun writing plays, short films, and superhero webisodes than actually performing in them. Then, when a flurry of political scandals hit the news, Jenn wondered what the kids at the center of the media's attention must be going through, and so began The Wrong Side of Right, her debut novel. Jen lives and writes in beautiful Gulfport, Florida, alongside her husband, two sons, and hound dog Molly.
show more

Review quote

Praise for The Wrong Side of Right "First-time novelist Jenn Marie Thorne has crafted a real page-turner, full of romance and intrigue. A great beach read for older tweens and young teens." --Chicago Tribune "Fits so perfectly in the present day [political] zeitgeist . . . without veering to preachiness or sacrificing [Thorne's] funny, lively story." "If a swoony novel is what you're looking for, then this is the novel for you! It's perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Meg Cabot, and Huntley Fitzpatrick. . . . We devoured this book full of heart and know that you will too." ★ "Both intelligent and heartfelt, as Kate finds unexpected love as well as unimagined courage. . . . Not only does Thorne give readers a moving coming-of-age story, but casts a critical eye on the state of American politics." --Booklist, starred review "Absorbing and timely." --Kirkus Reviews "Smart and well-executed . . . It is easy to like strong, intelligent Kate . . . and the adults in her life are realistically complicated. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han will appreciate this well-crafted story about love and family." --School Library Journal "A smart, fresh, and engaging debut . . . Add in a delicious, secret romance . . . and readers will be hoping for a sequel to this political page-turner." --Publishers Weekly "A fast-paced, complicated romance and coming-of-age story that will keep the reader coming back for more." --School Library Connection
"Whip-smart and heartbreaking and such a blast to read. I flew through this book."--Katie Cotugno, author of How to Love "I am obsessed with the smart, original, and captivating look behind the scenes in this high-stakes political drama. The Wrong Side of Right reminds me of Veep or The West Wing--only better, because it has teenagers."--Leila Sales, author of This Song Will Save Your Life "An effervescent story about family, friendship, politics, and discovering who you are--I loved every word. And Andy Lawrence is totally my new book boyfriend." --Kara Taylor, author of the Prep School Confidential series "I love this book! Kate Quinn is strong and smart and really, really needs to run for president." --Catherine Gilbert Murdock, author of Dairy Queen and Heaven Is Paved with Oreos
show more

Rating details

6,283 ratings
3.97 out of 5 stars
5 34% (2,106)
4 39% (2,425)
3 22% (1,370)
2 4% (278)
1 2% (104)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X