World Without End

World Without End

By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

#1 New York Times Bestseller In 1989, Ken Follett astonished the literary world with The Pillars of the Earth, a sweeping epic novel set in twelfth-century England centered on the building of a cathedral and many of the hundreds of lives it affected. Critics were overwhelmed—“it will hold you, fascinate you, surround you” (Chicago Tribune)—and readers everywhere hoped for a sequel.  World Without End takes place in the same town of Kingsbridge, two centuries after the townspeople finished building the exquisite Gothic cathedral that was at the heart of The Pillars of the Earth. The cathedral and the priory are again at the center of a web of love and hate, greed and pride, ambition and revenge, but this sequel stands on its own. This time the men and women of an extraordinary cast of characters find themselves at a crossroad of new ideas—about medicine, commerce, architecture, and justice. In a world where proponents of the old ways fiercely battle those with progressive minds, the intrigue and tension quickly reach a boiling point against the devastating backdrop of the greatest natural disaster ever to strike the human race—the Black Death.  Three years in the writing and nearly eighteen years since its predecessor, World Without End breathes new life into the epic historical novel and once again shows that Ken Follett is a masterful author writing at the top of his craft.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 1025 pages
  • 106 x 172 x 40mm | 539.77g
  • Penguin LCC US
  • Penguin Books
  • Poland
  • English
  • 0451224469
  • 9780451224460
  • 82,766

Review Text

"An epic tale in which you will willingly lose yourself for quite a spell." - The Denver Post "Follett's no-frills prose does its job, getting smoothly through more than a thousand pages of outlaws, war, death, sex, and politics to end with an edifice that is as well constructed and solid as Merthin's bridge. A." - The Washington Post "This wonderful sequel should leave you . . . with a 'deep contentment . . . like twilight on a summer evening.'" - Entertainment Weekly "A lively entertainment for fans of The Once and Future King , The Lord of the Rings , and other multilayered epics." - Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "Readers will be captivated." - Publisher's Weeklyshow more

Review quote

"An epic tale in which you will willingly lose yourself for quite a spell." —The Denver Post "Follett's no-frills prose does its job, getting smoothly through more than a thousand pages of outlaws, war, death, sex, and politics to end with an edifice that is as well constructed and solid as Merthin's bridge. A." —The Washington Post "This wonderful sequel should leave you . . . with a 'deep contentment . . . like twilight on a summer evening.'" —Entertainment Weekly "A lively entertainment for fans of The Once and Future King, The Lord of the Rings, and other multilayered epics." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "Readers will be captivated." —Publisher's Weeklyshow more

About Ken Follett

Ken Follett is one of the world’s best-loved authors, selling more than 160 million copies of his thirty books. Follett’s first bestseller was Eye of the Needle, a spy story set in the Second World War.    In 1989 The Pillars of the Earth was published and has since become Follett’s most popular novel. It reached number one on bestseller lists around the world and was an Oprah’s Book Club pick.   Its sequel, World Without End, proved equally popular and the Kingsbridge series has sold 38 million copies worldwide.   Follett lives in Hertfordshire, England, with his wife Barbara. Between them they have five children, six grandchildren, and three Labradors.show more