The Works of Francis Bacon: Volume 12, The Letters and the Life 5

The Works of Francis Bacon: Volume 12, The Letters and the Life 5

By (author)  , Edited by  , Edited by  , Edited by 

List price: US$80.00

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


Francis Bacon (1561-1626), the English philosopher, statesman and jurist, is best known for developing the empiricist method which forms the basis of modern science. Bacon's writings concentrated on philosophy and judicial reform. His most significant work is the Instauratio Magna comprising two parts - The Advancement of Learning and the Novum Organum. The first part is noteworthy as the first major philosophical work published in English (1605). James Spedding (1808-81) and his co-editors arranged this fourteen-volume edition, published in London between 1857 and 1874, not in chronological order but by subject matter, so that different volumes would appeal to different audiences. The material is divided into three parts: philosophy and general literature; legal works; and letters, speeches and tracts relating to politics. Published in 1869, Volume 12 contains Bacon's letters and writings between 1613 and 1616, which primarily relate to his appointment as Attorney General.
show more

Product details

  • Electronic book text
  • Cambridge University Press (Virtual Publishing)
  • Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1139149652
  • 9781139149655

Table of contents

Preface; Book V: 1. AD 1613-14. Aetat. 54; 2. AD 1614, April-June. Aetat. 54; 3. AD 1614. Aetat. 54; 4. AD 1614-15. Aetat. 55; 5. AD 1615. Aetat. 55; 6. AD 1615. Aetat. 55; 7. AD 1615. Aetat. 55; 8. AD 1616. Aetat. 56; 9. AD 1616. Aetat. 56; Index.
show more