Words On Bathroom Walls
26%
off

Words On Bathroom Walls

4.14 (1,454 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

Fans of More Happy Than Not, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and It's Kind of a Funny Story will cheer for Adam as he struggles with schizophrenia in this brilliantly honest and unexpectedly funny debut. Adam has just been diagnosed with schizophrenia. He sees and hears people who aren't there: Rebecca, a beautiful girl who understands him; the Mob Boss, who harasses him; and Jason, the naked guy who's unfailingly polite. It should be easy to separate the real from the not real, but Adam can't. Still, there's hope. As Adam starts fresh at a new school, he begins a drug trial that helps him ignore his visions. Suddenly everything seems possible, even love. When he meets Maya, a fiercely intelligent girl, he desperately wants to be the great guy that she thinks he is. But then the miracle drug begins to fail, and Adam will do anything to keep Maya from discovering his secret. "Echoing the premise and structure of Flowers for Algernon, this frank and inspiring novel shows how a teen's life changes after he is given an experimental medication to treat symptoms of schizophrenia."
--Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW "A brutal, beautiful book that sits right beside The Perks of Being a Wallflower and I'll Give You the Sun."
--Jennifer Longo, author of Up to This Pointe "This book reminds me of A Monster Calls. I saved the final twenty pages for the next day because I didn't want Adam's story to end."
--Peter Brown Hoffmeister, author of This Is the Part Where You Laugh "Walton has crafted a character with unparalleled likability, a boy whose endearing, witty, introspective commentary allows readers to get inside the head of a person with a debilitating mental illness. . . . Highly recommended."
--SLJ

"I loved it more than anything I've ever read. I LOVE THIS BOOK AND EVERYONE EVER SHOULD READ IT BECAUSE IT IS AMAZING AND BEAUTIFUL AND PUTS YOUR PROBLEMS IN PERSPECTIVE!!!!!!!"
--Camille P., 12
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 304 pages
  • 146 x 217 x 31mm | 418g
  • Random House USA Inc
  • Random House Books for Young Readers
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0399550887
  • 9780399550881
  • 159,356

About Julia Walton

JULIA WALTON received her MFA in creative writing from Chapman University. When she's not reading or baking cookies, she's indulging in her profound love of Swedish Fish, mechanical pencils, and hobbit-sized breakfasts. Julia lives in Huntington Beach, California, with her husband and daughter. Follow her on Twitter at @Jwaltonwrites.
show more

Review quote

"First-time author Walton creates a psychologically tense story with sympathetic characters while dispelling myths about a much-feared condition." --Publishers Weekly, starred review "Like Chbosky's Perks of Being a Wallflower, Vizzini's It's Kind of a Funny Story, and Shusterman's Challenger Deep, Adam struggles with the "regular" challenges of being a teen . . . as well as the injustice of a life complicated by mental illness." --VOYA "Words on Bathroom Walls follows a similar storyline to the classic Flowers for Algernon and is a gripping, gritty trek through the reality of being a teenager with a severe mental illness. Despite heavy subject matter, Adam is hilarious and infinitely lovable, and the ending is hopeful and realistic rather than happily-ever-after and contrived." --The Hub, YALSA "Imaginative writing and beautiful storytelling make this book an upbeat tale, but the message [of acceptance] is still driven home." --VOYA, Teen Reviewer "A welcome novel that doesn't treat schizophrenia as an unavoidable sentence of doom and that allots friendship and romance equal weight with mental illness." --Kirkus Reviews "Adam's witty voice will resonate with adolescents, punctuated by moments of humor that add a spin of positivity to Adam's struggles with his mental illness. Walton does a brilliant job of giving a voice to a population that is often silenced." --Booklist
show more

Review Text

"First-time author Walton creates a psychologically tense story with sympathetic characters while dispelling myths about a much-feared condition." -Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Like Chbosky's Perks of Being a Wallflower, Vizzini's It's Kind of a Funny Story, and Shusterman's Challenger Deep, Adam struggles with the "regular" challenges of being a teen . . . as well as the injustice of a life complicated by mental illness." -VOYA

"Words on Bathroom Walls follows a similar storyline to the classic Flowers for Algernon and is a gripping, gritty trek through the reality of being a teenager with a severe mental illness. Despite heavy subject matter, Adam is hilarious and infinitely lovable, and the ending is hopeful and realistic rather than happily-ever-after and contrived." -The Hub, YALSA

"Imaginative writing and beautiful storytelling make this book an upbeat tale, but the message [of acceptance] is still driven home." -VOYA, Teen Reviewer

"A welcome novel that doesn't treat schizophrenia as an unavoidable sentence of doom and that allots friendship and romance equal weight with mental illness." -Kirkus Reviews

"Adam's witty voice will resonate with adolescents, punctuated by moments of humor that add a spin of positivity to Adam's struggles with his mental illness. Walton does a brilliant job of giving a voice to a population that is often silenced." -Booklist
show more

Rating details

1,454 ratings
4.14 out of 5 stars
5 39% (560)
4 42% (609)
3 15% (223)
2 4% (55)
1 0% (7)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X