Words of Radiance
34%
off

Words of Radiance : Book Two of the Stormlight Archive

4.76 (112,034 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Read by  , Read by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson, Words of Radiance, Book Two of the Stormlight Archive, continues the immersive fantasy epic that The Way of Kings began.

Expected by his enemies to die the miserable death of a military slave, Kaladin survived to be given command of the royal bodyguards, a controversial first for a low-status "darkeyes." Now he must protect the king and Dalinar from every common peril as well as the distinctly uncommon threat of the Assassin, all while secretly struggling to master remarkable new powers that are somehow linked to his honorspren, Syl.

The Assassin, Szeth, is active again, murdering rulers all over the world of Roshar, using his baffling powers to thwart every bodyguard and elude all pursuers. Among his prime targets is Highprince Dalinar, widely considered the power behind the Alethi throne. His leading role in the war would seem reason enough, but the Assassin's master has much deeper motives.

Brilliant but troubled Shallan strives along a parallel path. Despite being broken in ways she refuses to acknowledge, she bears a terrible burden: to somehow prevent the return of the legendary Voidbringers and the civilization-ending Desolation that will follow. The secrets she needs can be found at the Shattered Plains, but just arriving there proves more difficult than she could have imagined.

Meanwhile, at the heart of the Shattered Plains, the Parshendi are making an epochal decision. Hard pressed by years of Alethi attacks, their numbers ever shrinking, they are convinced by their war leader, Eshonai, to risk everything on a desperate gamble with the very supernatural forces they once fled. The possible consequences for Parshendi and humans alike, indeed, for Roshar itself, are as dangerous as they are incalculable.

Other Tor books by Brandon Sanderson

The Cosmere

The Stormlight Archive
The Way of Kings
Words of Radiance
Edgedancer (Novella)
Oathbringer (forthcoming)

The Mistborn trilogy
Mistborn: The Final Empire
The Well of Ascension
The Hero of Ages

Mistborn: The Wax and Wayne series
Alloy of Law
Shadows of Self
Bands of Mourning

Collection
Arcanum Unbounded

Other Cosmere novels
Elantris
Warbreaker

The Alcatraz vs. the Evil Librarians series
Alcatraz vs. the Evil Librarians
The Scrivener's Bones
The Knights of Crystallia
The Shattered Lens
The Dark Talent

The Rithmatist series
The Rithmatist

Other books by Brandon Sanderson

The Reckoners
Steelheart
Firefight
Calamity
show more

Product details

  • CD-Audio | 38 pages
  • 135 x 152 x 89mm | 1,021g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Unabridged
  • Unabridged
  • 1427233071
  • 9781427233073
  • 1,092,412

Review quote

"I loved this book. What else is there to say?" --Patrick Rothfuss, New York Times bestselling author of The Name of the Wind on The Way of Kings

"This is a great choice for fans of Robert Jordan and Terry Brooks." --Voice of Youth Advocates on The Way of Kings

"The best part...is the compelling, complex story of Dalinar, Kaladin, and Shallan as they struggle though emotional, physical, and moral challenges. Fans and lovers of epic fantasy...will eagerly await the next volume." --Library Journal on The Way of Kings
show more

About Brandon Sanderson

Hugo Award-winner Brandon Sanderson is the author of bestsellers such as the Mistborn trilogy; the Stormlight Archives; and novels including The Rithmatist and Steelheart. He was chosen to complete Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time(R) sequence.

Michael Kramer received an Earphones Award for his narration of the Kent Family series by John Jakes and for Alan Fulsom's The Day After Tomorrow. He has also read for Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series.

Kate Reading has received multiple Earphones Awards and has been named a "Voice of the Century" by AudioFile magazine. She received a Helen Hayes Award for her performance in Aunt Dan and Lemon.
show more

Rating details

112,034 ratings
4.76 out of 5 stars
5 80% (89,897)
4 17% (18,830)
3 2% (2,732)
2 0% (418)
1 0% (157)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X