The Women Jefferson Loved
9%
off

The Women Jefferson Loved

3.75 (194 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"A focused, fresh spin on Jeffersonian biography." --Kirkus Reviews

In the tradition of Annette Gordon-Reed's The Hemingses of Monticello and David McCullough's John Adams, historian Virginia Scharff offers a compelling, highly readable multi-generational biography revealing how the women Thomas Jefferson loved shaped the third president's ideas and his vision for the nation. Scharff creates a nuanced portrait of the preeminent founding father, examining Jefferson through the eyes of the women who were closest to him, from his mother to his wife and daughters to Sally Hemings and the slave family he began with her.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 464 pages
  • 129.54 x 203.2 x 33.02mm | 385.55g
  • HarperCollins Publishers
  • United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • Illustrations, unspecified
  • 0061227080
  • 9780061227080
  • 1,801,665

Back cover copy

Historian Virginia Scharff breaks through the seemingly impenetrable wall separating Thomas Jefferson's public legacy and his private life, offering an intriguing new portrait of the founding father as seen through the lives of a remarkable group of women. Scharff brings together stories of the women who surrounded and, in many ways, defined Jefferson, including his mother; his wife, Martha; his mistress and Martha's half-sister, slave Sally Hemings; and his daughters and granddaughters. Based on a wealth of sources, including family letters, and written with empathy and insight, The Women Jefferson Loved is an unprecedented new look at this legendary American--one that offers a fresh perspective on American history itself.
show more

Review quote

We ve all heard about the influence of the women behind great men. Virginia Scharff actually shows this by examining all the women in Jefferson s life-his mother, white wife, black common-law wife, daughters and granddaughters. A grand, lively read. --Linda Gordon, Professor of History, New York University, and author of "Dorothea Lange: A Life Beyond Limits""
show more

Rating details

194 ratings
3.75 out of 5 stars
5 19% (37)
4 42% (82)
3 34% (66)
2 4% (8)
1 1% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X