Wolf by Wolf
25%
off

Wolf by Wolf

4.29 (8,874 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

NOMINATED FOR THE CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL 2017 Welcome to an alternate history. Over 10 years since the Nazis won the war, 17-year-old Yael has one mission: to kill Hitler. But first she's got to get close enough to him to do it. WOLF BY WOLF is a captivating thriller, perfect for fans of THE BOOK THIEF, dystopia and fantasy. Once upon a different time, there was a girl who lived in a kingdom of death. Wolves howled up her arm. A whole pack of them - made of tattoo ink and pain, memory and loss. It was the only thing about her that ever stayed the same. Her story begins on a train. Experimented on by scientists during her childhood in a concentration camp, Yael escaped with the unique ability to change her appearance at will. The only parts of her which always remain are the five tattooed wolves on her arm, one for each of the people she's lost. Now she is intent on getting revenge and achieving her goal: to kill the Fuhrer and change history forever. But to get close enough she must win an epic and gruelling motorcycle race from Berlin to Tokyo - disguised as someone else ...show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 151 x 220 x 29mm | 427g
  • Hachette Children's Group
  • Indigo (an Imprint of Orion Children's)
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1780622023
  • 9781780622026
  • 37,510

Review quote

An absorbing, exciting and interesting novel with a great central character The Bookbag Yael joins a long list of strong female leads - warriors, really - in young adult fiction, who prove their worth by exceeding expectations normally associated with males. Her desire for revenge is palpable and her determination well portrayed. Wolf by Wolf is as fast-paced and tense as The Hunger Games and will keep you wondering not only who will win the race, but also what their final victory will be. The Bookseller Please, just go and go now. Buy it. Read it. Love it. And then you will understand why I am so very desperately in love with Wolf By Wolf. Because, yes, Wolf By Wolf's lead girl was a Mystique-like character, undercover and with special powers - it is a race, a battle, a supernatural-esque thrill ride. But Wolf By Wolf is also about fear and pain and hope and survival. About fighting against all the odds. About making the world right after it went oh-so very wrong. About fighting for what you believe in. About how terrible the world could have been, if just a few things had gone differently during WW2. And that is why everyone, everywhere simply has to read it. Wolf By Wolf was beyond phenomenal and I honestly just cannot recommend it enough - to every single person who reads this review, who sees this book in Waterstones and who lives on this planet. Read it. Read it now. I, meanwhile, will be going insane waiting for the sequel... I just need it so badly. Ryan Graudin is amazing and all powerful and I am well and truly hooked. The Book Addicted Girl I sat in a tube station and refused to leave until I reached the end because I couldn't bear to put it down. Wolf By Wolf throws us into the dusty path of a stunning, fast-paced and well-written journey. All I wanted to do upon finishing was tell other people about it. The Pretty Books I loved this book. It switches between Yael's childhood and when she is 18, which was done very well as both stories were equally intriguing, which normally isn't the case in books written with a similar format. The book was very well written as you slowly got to know more and more about Yael's past, as it slotted into the story. -- Guardian children's books site teen reviewer The Guardian.com Ultimately Wolf by Wolf is a story of fierce and determined hope. Hope to survive, hope to win, hope to make a better world. It is a triumph of writing and a must read for 2015. If you loved X Men First Class, Orphan Black, The Big Lie and The Book Thief, this is the book for you. 5 Lightning bolts for this incredible book. Mugglenet.com Engaging and suspenseful, this is a perfect read for history and spy buffs alike Scotcampus Gripping, powerful and utterly addictive, Wolf by Wolf is an absolute must-read The Guardian It's harrowing and heart-rending, but at the same time the rush that surrounds every step of the race makes it an addictive read... Not once does Graudin ever lose sight of the events that inspired Wolf By Wolf though, and it's her clever command of resolve and a teenage girl's fight through her fears for a better world that makes Graudin such an unstoppable writer SciFi Now This is a smart, many-layered thriller that not only kept me right on the edge of my seat but kept me guessing right up until the final, scary, and completely unexpected twist. An alternate history, a brutal race, a secret mission, with a pinch of sci-fi to set it going - hands down to Ryan Graudin for coming up with something so entirely different. Waterstones.com Ferocious and challenging The Daily Telegraph Pacy, credible and raw, every page snarls at you, dragging you into the plot Woman's Way High tension, epic adventure and a very feisty heroine, this would suit fans of the Hunger Games and X-Men to All The Light We Cannot See South Wales Evening Post Wolf by Wolf completely immerses the reader in a story they'll never forget. Filled to the brim with tension and intrigue, non-stop action and a vivid cast of characters, you'll feel every bump in the road they ride. I simply couldn't stop reading-and wherever Ryan Graudin rides next, I'll follow. -- Amie Kauffman, New York Times Bestselling author of These Broken Stars This is a very exciting and ambitious novel. Filled with detail about the Third Reich, it gives a horrifying account of what might have happened if Hitler had won the war School Librarianshow more

About Ryan Graudin

Ryan Graudin was born in Charleston, South Carolina with a severe case of wanderlust. When she's not travelling, she's busy photographing weddings, writing and spending time with her husband and wolf-dog. You can visit her website at ryangraudin.com and follow her on Twitter @ryangraudin.show more

Rating details

8,874 ratings
4.29 out of 5 stars
5 47% (4,149)
4 40% (3,546)
3 10% (911)
2 2% (190)
1 1% (78)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X