The Witch's Kind

The Witch's Kind

3.88 (3,335 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-13 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

'AN IRRESISTIBLE BLEND OF MAGIC AND HISTORICAL FANTASY' Young Folks

An engrossing tale of love, sacrifice, family ties and magic set in the aftermath of World War II - perfect for fans of A Discovery of Witches, Outlander and Nora Roberts.

Barrie Anne Blythe and her Aunt Charlotte have always known that the other residents of their small coastal community find them peculiar. It is the price of concealing their strange and dangerous family secret.

But two events threaten to upend their lives for ever: the arrival of an abandoned baby with a hint of power like their own, and the reappearance of Barrie Anne's long-lost husband - who is not quite the man she thought she married. Barrie Anne and Charlotte must decide how far they are willing to go to protect themselves - and the child they think of as their own - from suspicious neighbours, the government and even their own family . . .

Praise for Louisa Morgan:

'Will sweep you away to a time of magic, love, and loss . . . Mesmerising' Tish Thawer

'Deftly captures the greatest magic of all: the love between mothers and daughters' Jordanna Max Brodsky

'I loved it. A beautiful generational tale, reminiscent of Practical Magic . . . Grounded and real, painful and hopeful at the same time' Laure Eve

'Epic in scope and heartbreakingly tender . . . Recommended for fans of Nora Roberts' Booklist

Novels by Louisa Morgan:
A Secret History of Witches
The Witch's Kind
The Age of Witches
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 480 pages
  • 128 x 196 x 36mm | 320g
  • Orbit
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0356512568
  • 9780356512563
  • 288,477

Review Text

At once sprawling and intimate, A Secret History of Witches deftly captures the greatest magic of all: the love between mothers and daughters Jordanna Max Brodsky, author of THE IMMORTALS
show more

Review quote

At once sprawling and intimate, A Secret History of Witches deftly captures the greatest magic of all: the love between mothers and daughters * Jordanna Max Brodsky, author of THE IMMORTALS * The tiny touches of magic realism, fantasy, and science fiction are intriguing elements, but the strength of Morgan's powerful story is her depiction of this time and place and the everyday struggles of determined women. A great choice for readers who enjoy novels by Alice Hoffman and Barbara Kingsolver -- BOOKLIST A moving multigenerational saga about strong women who work behind the scenes to save the world from tyranny. A deeply satisfying and magical work of great craft * Carol Goodman, author of Incubus * Magic infuses the story . . . it sings with sensory detail . . . a lush, loving look at everyday lives of women -- B&N SCI-FI AND FANTASY BLOG I loved it. A beautiful generational tale, reminiscent of Practical Magic if it had been set in various time periods, but much more expansive in scope. Grounded and real, painful and hopeful at the same time * Laure Eve, author of The Graces * I'm still feeling a little bowled over by how much I liked this book . . . Completely engrossing and hard to put down -- BIBLIOSANCTUM Morgan's transportive words will sweep you away to a time of magic, love, and loss. Simply hold on and enjoy this mesmerizing ride * Tish Thawer, award-winning author of The Witches of BlackBrook series * A compelling, relationship-driven family drama with speculative elements and plenty of mystery, this is a page turner that you won't be able to put down . . . I can hardly wait for Louisa Morgan's next book, and I'll be the first person in line to read it! -- BOOKS, BONES & BUFFY [An] epic relay race that gripped me from start to finish. Fiercely uncompromising and unsentimentally poignant, A Secret History of Witches will transfix you * Michael Bishop * An irresistible blend of magic and historical fantasy * YOUNG FOLKS * An enthralling journey through time and the hearts of women with powers they must hide. Deeply moving and richly conceived. The secret is out. This is how it happened * Kay Kenyon, author of At the Table of Wolves * Poignant tale of mothers and daughters struggling to survive and preserve their craft in a hostile world. A tale full of love and betrayal, happiness and terror, it will keep you reading long into the night * Melissa Lenhardt, author of Sawbones * A grand family saga rich with historical detail and threaded through with magic. You won't want this book to end * Sharon Shinn, author of Archangel * A Secret History of Witches is an epic family saga that speaks to the strength of all women and the difference that one true heart can make, not only for herself, but for the world * Marci Jefferson, author of Girl on the Golden Coin * A Secret History of Witches examines the bonds between mothers and daughters, and the power of hidden magic to quietly save the world, particularly as the world braces for another global war * Brit + Co * Fans of Outlander, Practical Magic, and other female-empowered family sagas and historical fiction will never want to leave these deliciously absorbing pages. Louisa Morgan, I await your next book with great anticipation! * THE BERKSHIRE EDGE *
show more

About Louisa Morgan

Louisa Morgan is a pseudonym for award-winning author Louise Marley. Louise lives in the Pacific Northwest where she and her Border Terrier, Oscar, ramble the beaches and paths of Washington State.
show more

Rating details

3,335 ratings
3.88 out of 5 stars
5 27% (913)
4 40% (1,333)
3 27% (884)
2 5% (176)
1 1% (29)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X