The Witch Of Willow Hall
13%
off

The Witch Of Willow Hall

3.71 (2,966 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

`This debut recalls Georgette Heyer, with extra spookiness'

The Times

`Beautifully written... The Witch of Willow Hall will cast a spell over every reader'
Lisa Hall, author of Between You and Me

The must-have historical read for the autumn, perfect for fans of A Discovery of Witches and Outlander.




Years after the Salem witch trials one witch remains. She just doesn't know it... yet.



Growing up Lydia Montrose knew she was descended from the legendary witches of Salem but was warned to never show the world what she could do and so slowly forgot her legacy. But Willow Hall has awoken something inside her...


1821: Having fled family scandal in Boston Willow Hall seems an idyllic refuge from the world, especially when Lydia meets the previous owner of the house, John Barrett.


But a subtle menace haunts the grounds of Willow Hall, with strange voices and ghostly apparitions in the night, calling to Lydia's secret inheritance and leading to a greater tragedy than she could ever imagine.



Can Lydia confront her inner witch and harness her powers or is it too late to save herself and her family from the deadly fate of Willow Hall?




`Steeped in Gothic eeriness it's spine-tingling and very atmospheric.'


Nicola Cornick, author of The Phantom Tree




`With its sense of creeping menace... this compelling story had me gripped from the first page... '


Linda Finlay, author of The Flower Seller



`Creepy, tense, heartbreaking and beautifully, achingly romantic.'
Cressida McLaughlin


Readers are spellbound by the The Witch of Willow Hall!
`I could NOT put this thing down!'


`The ULTIMATE page turner!'


`What a story! It absolutely captivated me'


`Historical fiction with a side of romance and major helping of creepiness, this debut novel hits the mark!'


`The book pulls you in from the beginning with many twists and turns. I didn't want to put it down, and could not wait to see what was going to happen next.'
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 24mm | 250g
  • HQ
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • ePub edition
  • 1848457472
  • 9781848457478
  • 172,991

Review quote

`Beautifully written, with an intriguing plot full of suspense and mystery, The Witch of Willow Hall will cast a spell over every reader'
Lisa Hall, bestselling author of Between You and Me


`Steeped in Gothic eeriness it's spine-tingling and very atmospheric.'
Nicola Cornick, author of The Phantom Tree


`Creepy, tense, heartbreaking and beautifully, achingly romantic.'
Cressida McLaughlin


`The Witch of Willow Hall is so spookily good I feel haunted by it. It was literally the first thing on my mind when I opened my eyes this morning. I absolutely loved it from start to finish!'
Sarah Bennett, author of the Butterfly Cove series


`With it's sense of creeping menace and chilling undertones, this compelling story had me gripped from the first page. The vividly drawn characters cast their spell so convincingly, I couldn't stop reading until I discovered what happened to them. A wonderful debut novel.'
Linda Finlay, author of The Flower Seller


`I was entranced by this intriguing and spellbinding novel with its messages of love and loyalty and being true to who you really are.'
Kathleen McGurl, author of The Girl from Ballymor and The Pearl Locket


`Beautifully written, skilfully plotted, and filled with quiet terror...perfect for fans of Simone St. James and Kate Morton.'
Anna Lee Huber, author of the Lady Darby mysteries
show more

About Hester Fox

Hester Fox comes to writing from a background in the museum field as a collections maintenance technician.


This job has taken her from historic houses to fine art museums, where she has the privilege of cleaning and caring for collections that range from paintings by old masters, to ancient artefacts, to early American furniture.


She is a keen painter and has a master's degree in historical archaeology, as well as a background in medieval studies and art history. Hester lives outside of Boston with her husband and two cats.


The Witch of Willow Hall is her debut novel.
show more

Rating details

2,966 ratings
3.71 out of 5 stars
5 22% (662)
4 40% (1,180)
3 28% (818)
2 8% (239)
1 2% (67)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X