The Witch of Clatteringshaws

The Witch of Clatteringshaws

3.55 (258 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?


`It's a rotten old job being King!' says Dido Twite. Her friend King Simon agrees - his scheming courtiers want to marry him off to a pushy princess, and he has to lead his army against a tribe of invading Wends.

Their only hope is to find a long-lost heir to take Simon's place on the throne of England, with the help of failed witch Malise and her prophesying parrot.

The last book in the series that first introduced Simon as the hero of The Wolves of Willoughby Chase is a helter-skelter of battles, vicious villains and mysterious monsters, packed full of magic and humour. If you don't know the Wolves Chronicles, this gives a wonderful taste of Joan Aiken's fantastic world - and you still have all the rest to discover!
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 160 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 11mm | 117g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0
  • 1782954392
  • 9781782954392
  • 333,727

Review Text

""Quirky" is a word which could have been invented to describe the books in this series . . . What they are, first and foremost, is fun"
show more

Review quote

"Dido, a child Odysseus, is one of the great fictional heroines" * The Times * "What I relish in particular is the swiftness of the telling, the vigour with which brilliant moments of perception seem to be imporvised in the sheer delight of the onward rush of the story" ""Quirky" is a word which could have been invented to describe the books in this series . . . What they are, first and foremost, is fun" * Observer * "To the last, energy and invention show no sign of flapping" * TES * "Brilliant in its own right, The Witch of Clatteringshaws is also a wholly satisfying ending to Joan Aiken's long-running and original saga of Dido Twite and her friend Simon Battersea" * Guardian *
show more

About Joan Aiken

Joan Aiken was born in Sussex in 1924. She was the daughter of the American poet, Conrad Aiken; her sister, Jane Aiken Hodge, is also a novelist. Before joining the 'family business' herself, Joan had a variety of jobs, including working for the BBC, the United Nations Information Centre and then as features editor for a short story magazine. Her first children's novel, The Kingdom of the Cave, was published in 1960.

Joan Aiken wrote over a hundred books for young readers and adults and is recognized as one of the classic authors of the twentieth century. Amanda Craig, writing in The Times, said, 'She was a consummate story-teller, one that each generation discovers anew.' Her best-known books are those in the James III saga, of which The Wolves of Willoughby Chase was the first title, published in 1962 and awarded the Lewis Carroll prize. Both that and Black Hearts in Battersea have been filmed. Her books are internationally acclaimed and she received the Edgar Allan Poe Award in the United States as well as the Guardian Award for Fiction in this country for The Whispering Mountain.

Joan Aiken was decorated with an MBE for her services to children's books. She died in 2004.
show more

Rating details

258 ratings
3.55 out of 5 stars
5 19% (49)
4 33% (85)
3 35% (90)
2 11% (29)
1 2% (5)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X