The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes

The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes : from the author of The Keeper of Lost Things

4.02 (8,916 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$20.32

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

An irresistible novel of unexpected friendships, second chances and dark secrets, from the bestselling author and Queen of Uplit Ruth Hogan.

'Warm and wise' Guardian | 'A book to really love' Stylist | 'Will soften even the hardest of hearts' Red | 'Subtle and poignant' Good Housekeeping | 'Plenty of spirit and heart' Daily Mail | 'An adorable heartfelt story' Prima | 'Filled with hope and the power of friendship' Evening Standard | 'A whimsical, wistful affair' Sunday Express | 'A wrenching story of recovery' Metro

Once a spirited, independent woman with a rebellious streak, Masha's life has been forever changed by a tragic event twelve years ago. Unable to let go of her grief, she finds comfort in her faithful canine companion Haizum, and peace in the quiet lanes of her town's lido.

Then a chance encounter with two extraordinary women - the fabulous and wise Kitty Muriel, a convent girl turned magician's wife turned seventy-something roller disco fanatic, and the mysterious Sally Red Shoes, a bag lady with a prodigious voice - opens up a new world of possibilities, and the chance to start living again. But just as Masha dares to imagine the future, her past comes roaring back ...

Like her bestselling debut, The Keeper of Lost Things, The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes introduces a cast of wonderful characters, both ordinary and charmingly eccentric, who lead us through a moving exploration of the joy of friendship and the simple human connections that make life worth living.

*And if you loved The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes, try Ruth Hogan's new novel, Queenie Malone's Paradise Hotel, out now . . . readers are saying it's her best yet*
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 352 pages
  • 135 x 216 x 30mm | 472g
  • Two Roads
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1473668999
  • 9781473668997
  • 1,395,834

Review quote

The Lido by Libby Page and Ruth Hogan's The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes are both warm novels in which unlikely friendships help their protagonists tackle their demons * The Sunday Times * Warm and wise ... With her bestselling 2017 debut, The Keeper of Lost Things, Hogan won fans for her astute portrayal of grief and the human capacity for recovery. It is territory she revisits here, adding to her themes that of community and its power to heal. Her passages on loss are vivid and visceral ... But hope is never lost and catharsis is to be found in unlikely places' * Guardian * This is a work that packs in plenty of substance alongside the sweetness....Despite tackling such huge topics as bereavement and cancer - Hogan's work is filled with hope and the power of friendship -- Best uplifting books to read this summer * Evening Standard * Subtle and poignant * Good Housekeeping * A whimsical, wistful affair * Sunday Express * We were huge fans of Ruth Hogan's The Keeper of Lost Things, and her second book is just as brilliantly written - though you may need tissues at the ready! * Sun * The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes will soften even the hardest of hearts * Red * From the author of breakout hit, The Keeper Of Lost Things, this is a book to really love. Exploring the aftermath of grief and the ways people carry on (with humour, with solace, with lidos ...) Hogan writes welcoming prose that makes reading a joy * Stylist * The wonder of new beginnings * Prima * An adorable heartfelt story -- Nina Pottell * Prima * Vibrant -- Nina Pottell * Prima * A novel that looks at how to live life to the full, even if you have suffered tragedy * Daily Mail * This book has plenty of spirit and heart * Daily Mail * Hogan establishes a slightly left-of-centre world that's just a little more brightly coloured than the real one and deploys a host of eccentric characters to soften what is a wrenching story of recovery * Metro * A compelling second novel, a powerful story about loss and healing . . . Fans of Karen White and Marian Keyes will especially enjoy Hogan's storytelling style. * The Booklist * Beautiful and unique * Take a Break * The Up-Lit Queen * Sunday Post * Thorny issues are explored with a sensitive humour that takes nothing away from what people are feeling * BookBag * Gloriously gorgeous in every way . . . Ruth Hogan has the very special ability to look beyond the veil of unremarkable to find a sometimes painful, yet beautifully quirky existence . . . The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes is a must-read, and I enjoyed every single second of it * Lovereading * One of the stars of "up lit" - a literary trend with friendship and small acts of kindness at its core * Radio Times * A lovely, gentle, uplifting read * The Book Scoop * Emotional * Love it! * A book that will tuck itself into your heart * Emma's Bookish Corner * Ruth Hogan has done a remarkable job. Once again she has proven that she has an uncanny ability to create a perfectly balanced, cosy and comforting read ... Her books are full of love, life, and human perseverance * The Bookish Bundle * Laced with wit and charm * The Coast * Extraordinarily wonderful * The Last Word Book Review * Uplifting * Corey Reads * Thoughtful and moving ... Ruth tells a good story, she writes beautifully, and is a genuine talent. I look forward to reading more of her work * The Terrified Writer * This book is brilliant, absolutely brilliant, I loved it * Wilde Reads * A highly original and quirky novel, it was well written and managed to balance moments of darkness with sensitivity, as well as light humour * Mrs B's Book Reviews * Brilliantly written * Clem Loves * Another beautiful story from an author who writes like a dream * Random Things Through My Letterbox blog * Sally Red Shoes has completely stolen my heart . . . Gentle, quirky, hopeful. So clever, so beautiful. LOVED it * Books and the City * A powerful story about coming alive . . . Ruth Hogan depicts Masha's life with grace, eloquence, melancholy and this elegant writing is even more exquisite than in The Keeper of Lost Things * Apple Tree Antiquarian Books * I love that the best and brightest characters were older women who had refused to live the life society would have dictated to them. The joy they offered in just being unapologetically themselves is a great invitation to us all. * Create Hope Inspire blog * A beautiful and inspiring tale that celebrates friendship that I am pretty sure will touch many hearts, it definitely touched mine * Alba in Bookland * Wonderfully warm and uplifting * Portobello Book Blog * She has got an amazing gift of creating such interesting and lovable characters . . . our new queen of heart-warming novels * Waterstones Bromley * What Ruth Hogan does beautifully is deals with really tough themes, but she does it with lightness and humour. She makes you see the joy and optimism in everything -- Hannah Beckerman * BBC R2 Sara Cox Bookclub * The poster-child of the "up-lit" trend * The Bookseller * Heartfelt and radiating warmth, it's difficult to not be drawn into this book * Reviews by Chloe * What Ruth Hogan does beautifully is deals with really tough themes, but she does it with lightness and humour. She makes you see the joy and optimism in everything -- Hannah Beckerman * Radio 2 Sara Cox's Bookclub * Heartfelt and radiating warmth, it's difficult to not be drawn into this book * Reviews by Chloe *
show more

About Ruth Hogan

Ruth Hogan has now sold over a million books. Her first novel, The Keeper of Lost Things, was a Sunday Times bestseller and a Richard & Judy pick and is published in over 30 countries. Her next novels, The Wisdom of Sally Red Shoes and Queenie Malone's Paradise Hotel, helped establish her as one of the queens of uplifting fiction. Madame Burova, her fourth novel, is set in her beloved Brighton. Ruth lives in a chaotic Victorian house with an assortment of rescue dogs and her long suffering husband.

ruthhogan.co.uk
twitter | instagram > ruthmariehogan
facebook > RuthHoganAuthor
show more

Rating details

8,916 ratings
4.02 out of 5 stars
5 36% (3,189)
4 38% (3,381)
3 20% (1,784)
2 5% (417)
1 2% (145)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X