Winterhouse

Winterhouse

3.96 (7,354 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Illustrated by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-11 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

An Edgar Award Finalist
An Agatha Award Finalist

An enchanting urban fantasy middle-grade debut--the first book in a trilogy--set in a magical hotel full of secrets.

Orphan Elizabeth Somers's malevolent aunt and uncle ship her off to the ominous Winterhouse Hotel, owned by the peculiar Norbridge Falls. Upon arrival, Elizabeth quickly discovers that Winterhouse has many charms--most notably its massive library. It's not long before she locates a magical book of puzzles that will unlock a mystery involving Norbridge and his sinister family. But the deeper she delves into the hotel's secrets, the more Elizabeth starts to realize that she is somehow connected to Winterhouse. As fate would have it, Elizabeth is the only person who can break the hotel's curse and solve the mystery. But will it be at the cost of losing the people she has come to care for, and even Winterhouse itself?

Mystery, adventure, and beautiful writing combine in this exciting debut richly set in a hotel full of secrets.

Christy Ottaviano Books

Praise for Winterhouse:
An Indie Next List Pick

"Clever and captivating." --Kirkus Reviews

A charming, atmospheric mystery with some fantasy elements, for fans of Kate Milford's Greenglass House and Trenton Lee Stewart's The Mysterious Benedict Society. . . . Bristol's art is whimsical and enhances the spirit of the story. --School Library Journal
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 130 x 192 x 27mm | 326g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • b/w illustrations
  • 1250294193
  • 9781250294197
  • 80,416

Review quote

Praise for Winterhouse:
An Edgar Award Nominee
An Agatha Award Nominee
An Indie Next List Pick
An Oklahoma Book Award Nominee

"Clever and captivating." --Kirkus Reviews

Filled with puzzles and magic, Guterson's debut keeps suspense high as the secrets of Elizabeth's past unwind. This satisfying mystery leaves just enough unanswered questions to have readers eager for the next book in this planned trilogy. --Publishers Weekly

A charming, atmospheric mystery with some fantasy elements, for fans of Kate Milford's Greenglass House and Trenton Lee Stewart's The Mysterious Benedict Society. . . . Bristol's art is whimsical and enhances the spirit of the story. --School Library Journal

A natural fit for readers with a penchant for puzzles and wordplay in the vein of the Mr. Lemoncello's Library series and Pseudonymous Bosch. --Booklist
show more

About Ben Guterson

Ben Guterson was born and raised in Seattle. Before working at Microsoft as a Program Manager, Ben spent a decade teaching public school on the Navajo Reservation in New Mexico and in rural Colorado. He has written features and book reviews for newspapers, magazines, and websites, as well as a nature-travel guide to the Southwest. Ben and his family live in the foothills of the Cascades east of Seattle. Winterhouse is his first book.

Chloe Bristol is an animation artist whose work has been featured on Disney Junior and Cartoon Network, among others. She is also the illustrator of the popular Winterhouse series by Ben Guterson. She lives in Southern California.
show more

Rating details

7,354 ratings
3.96 out of 5 stars
5 28% (2,059)
4 45% (3,327)
3 22% (1,627)
2 4% (273)
1 1% (68)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X