A Winter Hope
44%
off

A Winter Hope : A heartwarming World War II saga to get cosy with this Christmas

4.18 (69 ratings by Goodreads)
  • CD-Audio
Narrator  , By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days


When will my order arrive?

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 7-10 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

Previously published as The Family at Number Five.

For fans of Katie Flynn and Dilly Court, A Winter Hope is a heart-warming novel from the Queen of family saga, perfect for curling up at home with.

All they want is a new home.

Number five Kitchener Avenue heralds the start of a new life for the Hope family. For pregnant Miriam it is a warm, safe environment to bring up her child. For her sister, fourteen-year-old Barbara, it means independence . . . and boys. And for Fred it provides the security he craves for his young family.

The Hopes settle in, and start to make happy memories in their new home. But World War II is round the corner, and this carefree life can't last.

Soon the family are split up. Bar, wanting to do her bit for the war effort, joins the ATS, while Miriam and her children are evacuated to the countryside and away from her husband.

As the country is thrown into turmoil, can the Hope family come back together and find the happiness they crave?

'A Winter Hope is a heartwarming novel following two sisters from pre-war to post-war, their parallel stories filled with love and loss. I found myself completely wrapped up with their experiences and shed a tear at the twists and turns of their lives.' Mollie Walton, author of The Daughters of Ironbridge

'I have long been a fan of Sheila Newberry's novels. I love their wonderful warmth and charm.' Maureen Lee, bestselling author of The Seven Streets of Liverpool

'Reading a Sheila Newberry book is like having dinner with your mother in her warm and cosy kitchen. You can feel the love and care put into every juicy morsel' - Diane Allen, bestselling author of For the Sake of Her Family
show more

Product details

  • CD-Audio
  • 122 x 143 x 11mm | 90g
  • Bear Grylls Publishing
  • London, United Kingdom
  • Unabridged
  • Unabridged edition
  • 1838771557
  • 9781838771553
  • 1,292,186

About Sheila Newberry

Sheila Newberry was born in Suffolk and spent a lot of time there both before and during the war. She wrote her first 'book' before she was ten - all sixty pages of it - in purple ink. Her family was certainly her inspiration and she was published for most of her adult life. She spent forty years living in Kent with her husband John on a smallholding. She had nine children, twenty-two grandchildren and six great-grandchildren. Sheila retired back to Suffolk where she lived until her death in 2020.
show more

Rating details

69 ratings
4.18 out of 5 stars
5 49% (34)
4 29% (20)
3 14% (10)
2 6% (4)
1 1% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X