Winemaker Detective Mysteries: An Omnibus

Winemaker Detective Mysteries: An Omnibus

3.61 (69 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , By (author)  , Translated by  , Translated by 

List price: US$19.95

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

A perfect blend of mystery and gastronomy The first three books in the Winemaker Detective Series serve up a whirlwind of money, deceit, inheritance, greed, and fine wine, ideal for fans of Iron Chef & Murder, She Wrote. In this "addictive" series, master winemaker Benjamin Cooker and his sidekick Virgile solve mysteries in vineyards across French wine country. In Treachery in Bordeaux, barrels at a prestigious wine estate have been contaminated. Is it negligence or sabotage? The two wine connoisseurs investigate in this light-hearted, page-turning read. In Grand Cru Heist, the two amateur detectives meet a motley crew of characters near Tours--a stunning blonde, a zealous concierge, and touchy local police--and must solve two murders along the way. In Nightmare in Burgundy, a dream wine tasting trip turns into a troubling nightmare when Cooker and Virgile stumble upon a mystery revolving around messages from another era. What dark secrets from the deep past are haunting the Clos de Vougeot? Does blood need to be shed to sharpen people's memory? Brimming with description, intrigue, and compelling characters, the Omnibus offers a rare chance to sample the first three books in this "terrific series" for less than a bottle of your favorite wine (William Martin, New York Times Bestselling Author).
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 309 pages
  • 140 x 216 x 19mm | 413g
  • English
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 1939474566
  • 9781939474568
  • 1,623,438

Review quote

"Alaux and Balen offer intrigue and plenty of good eating and drinking... this book and its successors will whet appetites of fans of both Iron Chef and Murder, She Wrote." --Booklist "Those who like detective stories that rely on the fine qualities of the investigator will find Cooker an enjoyable lead." --Publishers Weekly "Unusually adept at description, the authors manage to paint everything.... The journey through its pages is not to be rushed." --ForeWord Reviews "A terrific new series." --William Martin, New York Times bestselling author "A fine vintage." --Peter May, prize-winning, international bestselling author "An excellent mystery series in which you eat, drink and discuss wine as much as you do murders." --Le Nouvel Observateur "Do not read this book while hungry!" --Student of Opinions "A light-hearted, fast read that is completely compelling." --Back to Books "This is definitely a book for those who like the finer things in life."--Writing about Books
show more

About Jean-Pierre Alaux

Jean-Pierre Alaux is a magazine, radio and TV journalist when he is not writing novels in southwestern France. He is the grandson of a winemaker and exhibits a real passion for wine and winemaking. For him, there is no greater common denominator than wine.
show more

Rating details

69 ratings
3.61 out of 5 stars
5 28% (19)
4 29% (20)
3 28% (19)
2 9% (6)
1 7% (5)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X