Windfall
7%
off

Windfall

By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

This romantic story of hope, chance, and change from the author of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight is one Jenny Han says is filled with all of her "favorite things," Morgan Matson calls “something wonderful” and Stephanie Perkins says “is rich with the intensity of real love.” Alice doesn’t believe in luck—at least, not the good kind. But she does believe in love, and for some time now, she’s been pining for her best friend, Teddy. On his eighteenth birthday—just when it seems they might be on the brink of something—she buys him a lottery ticket on a lark. To their astonishment, he wins $140 million, and in an instant, everything changes. At first, it seems like a dream come true, especially since the two of them are no strangers to misfortune. As a kid, Alice won the worst kind of lottery possible when her parents died just over a year apart from each other. And Teddy’s father abandoned his family not long after that, leaving them to grapple with his gambling debts. Through it all, Teddy and Alice have leaned on each other. But now, as they negotiate the ripple effects of Teddy’s newfound wealth, a gulf opens between them. And soon, the money starts to feel like more of a curse than a windfall. As they try to find their way back to each other, Alice learns more about herself than she ever could have imagined . . . and about the unexpected ways in which luck and love sometimes intersect.  A Top Ten Summer '17 Kids Indie Next List Pick! Praise for Windfall: Featured in Seventeen Magazine's "What's Hot Now" “Windfall is about all of my favorite things—a girl’s first big love, her first big loss, and—her first big luck.” —Jenny Han, New York Times bestselling author of To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before   “Windfall is perfectly named; reading it, I felt like I had suddenly found something wonderful. It’s a story about love, and luck, and the way our lives can change in an instant. I laughed and cried and bought a lottery ticket the very next day.” —Morgan Matson, New York Times bestselling author of The Unexpected Everything   “Windfall is rich with the intensity of real love— in all its heartache and hope.” —Stephanie Perkins, New York Times bestselling author of Isla and the Happily Ever After  "If you’re looking for your next great read, then you’re in “luck!” Smith combines humor and emotion to capture these characters’ life-changing story, while teaching us all a bit about luck, love, kindness and the true meaning of home." —Justine Magazine "Windfall is an absolutely brilliant story...you will def want to add this gem to your TBR pile." —Susane Colasanti, bestselling author of When It Happensshow more

Product details

  • 12+
  • Paperback | 417 pages
  • 141 x 208 x 25mm | 431g
  • Random House LCC US
  • Delacorte Press
  • English
  • 152476471X
  • 9781524764715
  • 192,608

Review Text

"Smith's dynamic characters and their complex struggles ...will keep readers invested." - Publishers Weekly "Smith weaves a poignant tale of teens coping with loss and change as they balance on the verge of adulthood... Fans of Morgan Matson's and Deb Caletti's books will want to curl up with a box of tissues as they fall under Smith's storytelling spell." -School Library Journal "[T]his compelling read, gracefully told, raises issues seldom explored in popular fiction. How can we rationalize life's inequalities? What do we owe, and to whom, when blessed with good fortune? Smart and entertaining , as to be expected from Smith." - Kirkus Reviews "Smith taps into the r elatable feelings of young love ...she skillfully juxtaposes these romantic complications with the struggles of newfound wealth; family and friend conflicts; and each teen's internal wrestling with the past, present, and future." - VOYA "Windfall is about all of my favorite things-a girl's first big love , her first big loss , and-her first big luck ." -Jenny Han, New York Times bestselling author of To All the Boys I've Loved Before "Windfall is perfectly named; reading it, I felt like I had suddenly found something wonderful. It's a story about love, and luck, and the way our lives can change in an instant. I laughed and cried and bought a lottery ticket the very next day." -Morgan Matson, New York Times bestselling author of The Unexpected Everything "Windfall is rich with the intensity of real love -in all its heartache and hope." -Stephanie Perkins, New York Times bestselling author of Isla and the Happily Ever After " Windfall is an absolutely brilliant story ...you will def want to add this gem to your TBR pile. " -Susane Colasanti, bestselling author of When It Happens More Praise for Jennifer E. Smith "Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between is the love story of Clare and Aidan, high school sweethearts who spend one last day together before college separates them, possibly forever. It's also the love story of good friends, of home, of what used to be and what's to come. This latest stunner from Jennifer E. Smith will linger in your aching heart. (But it's a good ache. The best kind.) It's an ache that comes from characters who are so real they breathe, and a relatable story that generates feels-lots of them-on every page." -Jennifer Niven, New York Times bestselling author of All the Bright Places "Smith captures the romantic sparks that fly in unusual situations and the way love can build even when circumstances keep people apart. If you like your romances with a bit of European adventure, some New York glamour, and a lot of honest heart, The Geography of You and Me is for you." -E. Lockhart, New York Times bestselling author of We Were Liars "A gorgeous, heartwarming reminder of the power of fate." - The New York Times Book Review on The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sightshow more

Review quote

"Smith’s dynamic characters and their complex struggles...will keep readers invested." —Publishers Weekly "Smith weaves a poignant tale of teens coping with loss and change as they balance on the verge of adulthood...Fans of Morgan Matson’s and Deb Caletti’s books will want to curl up with a box of tissues as they fall under Smith’s storytelling spell." —School Library Journal “[T]his compelling read, gracefully told, raises issues seldom explored in popular fiction. How can we rationalize life's inequalities? What do we owe, and to whom, when blessed with good fortune? Smart and entertaining, as to be expected from Smith.” —Kirkus Reviews "Smith taps into the relatable feelings of young love...she skillfully juxtaposes these romantic complications with the struggles of newfound wealth; family and friend conflicts; and each teen’s internal wrestling with the past, present, and future." —VOYA “Windfall is about all of my favorite things—a girl’s first big love, her first big loss, and—her first big luck.” —Jenny Han, New York Times bestselling author of To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before  “Windfall is perfectly named; reading it, I felt like I had suddenly found something wonderful. It’s a story about love, and luck, and the way our lives can change in an instant. I laughed and cried and bought a lottery ticket the very next day.”  —Morgan Matson, New York Times bestselling author of The Unexpected Everything “Windfall is rich with the intensity of real love—in all its heartache and hope.” —Stephanie Perkins, New York Times bestselling author of Isla and the Happily Ever After "Windfall is an absolutely brilliant story...you will def want to add this gem to your TBR pile."  —Susane Colasanti, bestselling author of When It Happens More Praise for Jennifer E. Smith "Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between is the love story of Clare and Aidan, high school sweethearts who spend one last day together before college separates them, possibly forever. It's also the love story of good friends, of home, of what used to be and what's to come. This latest stunner from Jennifer E. Smith will linger in your aching heart. (But it's a good ache. The best kind.) It's an ache that comes from characters who are so real they breathe, and a relatable story that generates feels—lots of them—on every page." —Jennifer Niven, New York Times bestselling author of All the Bright Places   "Smith captures the romantic sparks that fly in unusual situations and the way love can build even when circumstances keep people apart. If you like your romances with a bit of European adventure, some New York glamour, and a lot of honest heart, The Geography of You and Me is for you." —E. Lockhart, New York Times bestselling author of We Were Liars   “A gorgeous, heartwarming reminder of the power of fate.” —The New York Times Book Review on The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sightshow more

About Jennifer E. Smith

Jennifer E. Smith is the author of seven novels for young adults, including The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight. She earned a master’s degree in creative writing from the University of St. Andrews in Scotland, and her work has been translated into thirty-three languages. She lives in New York City. Follow her on Twitter at @JenESmith or visit her at jenniferesmith.com.show more