The Wind Called My Name
11%
off

The Wind Called My Name

4.37 (67 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

In this heartwarming historical middle-grade set in the 1930s -- perfect for fans of Esperanza Rising and Hattie Big Sky-- Margarita Sandoval and her family try to navigate the shifting winds of belonging in their new Wyoming town.



Some days, ten-year-old Margaríta Sandoval feels as if the wind might blow her away. The country has been gripped by the Great Depression, so times are hard everywhere. Then she has to leave her família in New Mexico -- especially her beloved Abuelita -- to move to Fort Steele, Wyoming, where her father has taken a job on the railroad.



When Margaríta meets Evangeline, she's excited to have a friend her own age in Wyoming. But it often seems like Evangeline, and everyone else in town, doesn't understand or appreciate the Sandovals' Hispanic heritage. At the same time, the Sandovals discover they might lose Abuelita's land and their ancestral home unless they can pay off her tax bill. Can Margaríta keep her friend, help her family in New Mexico, and find a place in Fort Steele for good?
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 288 pages
  • 135 x 196 x 25mm | 363g
  • New York City, United States
  • English
  • 1620147807
  • 9781620147801

Flap copy

Pat Mora, Clare Vanderpool, Jennifer Torres, Supriya Kelkar, Christina Diaz Gonzalez, Laura Resau, Karen Cushman
show more

About Mary Louise Sanchez

MARY LOUISE SANCHEZ is a retired schoolteacher and librarian. The Wind Called My Name, her debut novel, is based in part on her family history, particularly the life of her mother, who grew up in Wyoming in the 1930s. A winner of the Tu Books New Visions Award, Mary Louise lives with her husband near Denver, Colorado.
show more

Rating details

67 ratings
4.37 out of 5 stars
5 54% (36)
4 31% (21)
3 13% (9)
2 1% (1)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X