Wildflowers of the Tallgrass Prairie

Wildflowers of the Tallgrass Prairie : The Upper Midwest

By (author)  , By (author) 

List price: US$29.95

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


This classic of midwestern natural history is back in print with a new format and new photographs. Originally published in 1989, Wildflowers of the Tallgrass Prairie introduced many naturalists to the beauty and diversity of the native plants of the huge grasslands that once stretched from Manitoba to Texas. Now redesigned with updated names and all-new photographs, this reliable field companion will introduce tallgrass prairie wildflowers to a new generation of outdoor enthusiasts in the Upper Midwest.show more

Product details

  • Electronic book text | 309 pages
  • University of Iowa Press
  • Iowa City, United States
  • English
  • Revised ed.
  • 1587298449
  • 9781587298448

Review quote

"In wave after wave of floral successions in indigo, pale lavender, crimson, gold, cream, white, and magenta--in every tone and hue of the artist's palette--the prairie flowers come on . . . beginning with ground-hugging pasque flowers and birdsfoot violets and climaxing with towering sunflowers. . . . All of these, and more, are carefully and lovingly treated in the following pages by Sylvan Runkel and Dean Roosa, a pair of long-time prairie ramblers who know the tallgrass country and the native flowers to be found there."--from the foreword by John Madsonshow more

About Sylvan T Runkel

Sylvan Runkel (1906-1995) is the coauthor of five books about midwestern wildflowers, including "Wildflowers of the Iowa Woodlands "and "Wildflowers and Other Plants of Iowa Wetlands." A vigorous promoter of conservation for many years, he was honored by the dedication of the Sylvan Runkel State Preserve in 1996. Conservationist Dean Roosa has served as Iowa's state ecologist, board member for the Iowa Chapter of the Nature Conservancy and the Natural Areas Association, chair of the Iowa Natural History Association, and president of the Iowa Ornithologists' Union. He is the coauthor of "The Vascular Plants of Iowa: An Annotated Checklist and Natural History "(Iowa, 1994).show more