The Wife Upstairs
12%
off

The Wife Upstairs

3.76 (104,929 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Read by  , Read by  , Read by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 15-20 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Instant New York Times and USA Today Bestseller

"Compulsively readable...a gothic thriller laced with arsenic." --EW

One of the Most Anticipated Books of 2021: CNN - Newsweek - Vulture - PopSugar - Parade - BuzzFeed - E!Online - TimeOut - Woman's Day - Goodreads - She Reads - Good Housekeeping - CrimeReads - Frolic - Hello! - Mystery and Suspense

January 2021 Indie Next Pick and #1 LibraryReads Pick

A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda.

Meet Jane. Newly arrived to Birmingham, Alabama, Jane is a broke dog-walker in Thornfield Estates--a gated community full of McMansions, shiny SUVs, and bored housewives. The kind of place where no one will notice if Jane lifts the discarded tchotchkes and jewelry off the side tables of her well-heeled clients. Where no one will think to ask if Jane is her real name.

But her luck changes when she meets Eddie Rochester. Recently widowed, Eddie is Thornfield Estates' most mysterious resident. His wife, Bea, drowned in a boating accident with her best friend, their bodies lost to the deep. Jane can't help but see an opportunity in Eddie--not only is he rich, brooding, and handsome, he could also offer her the kind of protection she's always yearned for.

Yet as Jane and Eddie fall for each other, Jane is increasingly haunted by the legend of Bea, an ambitious beauty with a rags-to-riches origin story, who launched a wildly successful southern lifestyle brand. How can she, plain Jane, ever measure up? And can she win Eddie's heart before her past--or his--catches up to her?

With delicious suspense, incisive wit, and a fresh, feminist sensibility, The Wife Upstairs flips the script on a timeless tale of forbidden romance, ill-advised attraction, and a wife who just won't stay buried. In this vivid reimagining of one of literature's most twisted love triangles, which Mrs. Rochester will get her happy ending?

A Macmillan Audio production from St. Martin's Press

"A compulsively readable tale that flips Charlotte Bronte's Jane Eyre on its head...a gothic thriller laced with arsenic." -- EW
show more

Product details

  • CD-Audio
  • 152 x 170 x 28mm | 295g
  • New York
  • English
  • Unabridged
  • Unabridged
  • 1250752469
  • 9781250752468

About Rachel Hawkins

RACHEL HAWKINS is the New York Times bestselling author of multiple books for young readers, and her work has been translated in over a dozen countries. She studied gender and sexuality in Victorian literature at Auburn University and currently lives in Alabama. The Wife Upstairs is her first adult novel.
show more

Rating details

104,929 ratings
3.76 out of 5 stars
5 20% (21,207)
4 44% (46,354)
3 29% (30,128)
2 6% (5,778)
1 1% (1,462)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X