The Widening Gyre
12%
off

The Widening Gyre

3.78 (109 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"Johnston's debut will keep readers on the edge of their seats as the heroes get themselves into one scrape after another. It has a hint of Battlestar Galactica, but with giant reptilian aliens. Johnston, with skillful plotting and impeccable world building, takes the tale of Tajen and his crew searching for home and shapes it into an unforgettable journey." - Booklist



The Remembrance War Book 1



Eight hundred years ago, the Zhen Empire discovered a broken human colony ship drifting in the fringes of their space. The Zhen gave the humans a place to live and folded them into their Empire as a client state. But it hasn't been easy. Not all Zhen were eager to welcome another species into their Empire, and humans have faced persecution. For hundreds of years, human languages and history were outlawed subjects, as the Zhen tried to mold humans into their image. Earth and the cultures it nourished for millennia are forgotten, little more than legends.



One of the first humans to be allowed to serve in the Zhen military, Tajen Hunt became a war hero at the Battle of Elkari, the only human to be named an official Hero of the Empire. He was given command of a task force, and sent to do the Empire's bidding in their war with the enigmatic Tabrans. But when he failed in a crucial mission, causing the deaths of millions of people, he resigned in disgrace and faded into life on the fringes as a lone independent pilot.



When Tajen discovers his brother, Daav, has been killed by agents of the Empire, he, his niece, and their newly-hired crew set out to finish his brother's quest: to find Earth, the legendary homeworld of humanity. What they discover will shatter 800 years of peace in the Empire, and start a war that could be the end of the human race.



FLAME TREE PRESS is the new fiction imprint of Flame Tree Publishing. Launching in 2018 the list brings together brilliant new authors and the more established; the award winners, and exciting, original voices.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 256 pages
  • 130 x 198 x 18mm | 202g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • New edition
  • New edition
  • 1787581446
  • 9781787581449
  • 685,584

Review quote

"Every now and then the Space Opera genre wakes up from its current day mediocrity, and something good shines under the light of a different star. This is what happened with this book." - Angelo Benuzzi

"Johnston can bring up not only solid worldbuilding [...] but investigate a full spectrum of themes from belonging to friendship to personal identity and more." - ScienceFiction.com

"I'll be very interested to see where Johnston goes with the next book. He has the potential to take it in some unexpected directions, and I'm hoping he does." - Locus Magazine

"Johnston's debut will keep readers on the edge of their seats as the heroes get themselves into one scrape after another. It has a hint of Battlestar Galactica, but with giant reptilian aliens. Johnston, with skillful plotting and impeccable world building, takes the tale of Tajen and his crew searching for home and shapes it into an unforgettable journey." - Booklist

"Fans of David Weber or Elizabeth Moon will enjoy this debut, and experienced sf readers will catch some winks at other series." - Library Journal

"The story is the action-packed space opera that the synopsis suggests. But it was so much more! [...]But I think the best surprise, for me, was the introduction of LGBT characters. It was unexpected, yet done in such a casual way that it was just natural." - Astroclone
show more

About Michael R. Johnston

Born in the San Francisco bay area and raised in Napa, California, Michael R. Johnston grew up steeped in everything Science Fiction and Fantasy from Asimov to Zelazny, as well as endless terrible SF TV shows he still has a slightly embarrassed fondness for.



Faced with the choice between moving back in with his parents and continuing school, or paying his rent, he took "a year" off from college. He spent time as a court process server, a retail sales associate, a sandwich maker, and a data entry tech, before finding himself in a management role.



A decade later, burnt out from his job in political research and facing 30, he decided he'd had enough and returned to college, graduating with honors from California State University, Sacramento. In fall 2006, he became a high school English teacher, a job he likens to herding a swarm of angry bees. It's the best job he's ever had.



In 2013, he attended the 17th Viable Paradise Science Fiction Writing Workshop. The experience of having his story critiqued by other writers, some of them professionals he'd been reading for years, helped him realize he could write professionally, and introduced him to some of his best friends.



He currently lives in Sacramento, California, with his wife and daughter, surrounded by a circle of incredibly geeky and amazing people. When he's not writing or teaching, he spends time with his family, plays video games and tabletop RPGs, and reads. He blogs at MJohnstonBooks.com, and can be found on Twitter @MREJohnston.
show more

Rating details

109 ratings
3.78 out of 5 stars
5 25% (27)
4 40% (44)
3 26% (28)
2 7% (8)
1 2% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X