Wicked Like a Wildfire
30%
off

Wicked Like a Wildfire

3.62 (738 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"Lush. Delicious. Bewildering. And darkly magical. Popovic has created a world that you tumble into from the very first words and wish you could stay in forever." -Evelyn Skye, author of The Crown's Game"Wicked Like a Wildfire was like devouring a succulent fairy fruit-it will rob your time, settle into your dreams, and leave you starving for more." -Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched QueenFans of Holly Black and Leigh Bardugo will be bewitched by Lana Popovic's debut YA fantasy novel about a bargain that binds the fates-and hearts-of twin sisters to a force larger than life.All the women in Iris and Malina's family have the unique magical ability or "gleam" to manipulate beauty. Iris sees flowers as fractals and turns her kaleidoscope visions into glasswork, while Malina interprets moods as music. But their mother has strict rules to keep their gifts a secret, even in their secluded sea-side town. Iris and Malina are not allowed to share their magic with anyone, and above all, they are forbidden from falling in love. But when their mother is mysteriously attacked, the sisters will have to unearth the truth behind the quiet lives their mother has built for them. They will discover a wicked curse that haunts their family line-but will they find that the very magic that bonds them together is destined to tear them apart forever?Wicked Like a Wildfire is the first in a two-book series. Readers will be rapt with anticipation for the sequel.show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 416 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 33mm | 473g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • KATHERINE TEGEN BOOKS
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 006243683X
  • 9780062436832
  • 6,162

Review quote

"Lush. Delicious. Bewildering. And darkly magical. Popovic has created a world that you tumble into from the very first words and wish you could stay in forever." -- Evelyn Skye, New York Times bestselling author of The Crown's Game "Wicked Like a Wildfire was like devouring a succulent fairy fruit-it will rob your time, settle into your dreams, and leave you starving for more." -- Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen "This sensory-rich debut and series opener highlights the mysteries of life, death, and love for modern twin witches." -- Kirkus Reviews "Readers will be captivated by [Popovic's] entrancing writing, evocative setting, and distinctive supernatural worldbuilding, and will eagerly await the second book in this planned duology." -- Publishers Weekly "Atmospheric and often sensual, this first in a duology is a slow-burning fairy tale about the power of love and the bonds between siblings. Patient readers will find much to savor." -- Booklist "...a wild ride of magic and family secrets... For fans of Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke and Bone, readers will be greatly pleased with this debut novel." -- School Library Journal "Readers will revel in the evocative language and sensory details that feel a time and place apart..." -- Shelf Awarenessshow more

Rating details

738 ratings
3.62 out of 5 stars
5 27% (197)
4 31% (230)
3 25% (187)
2 12% (87)
1 5% (37)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X