White Dolphin

White Dolphin

4.06 (1,032 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$14.39

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Bullied at school for her dyslexia and troubled by her mother's unexplained disappearance, Kara seeks sanctuary sailing the ocean's waves in her father's boat. Meanwhile, Felix resents his well-meaning parents for dragging him to live by the coast and misses his old friends back in London. On their first encounter, Kara and Felix take an immediate dislike to each other. But when they happen to discover a dolphin calf stranded on the beach they know they must work together to save it against all odds. Realizing they have more in common than they could ever have guessed, the two friends set out to find the truth behind the disappearance of Kara's marine biologist mother, and to protect the delicate reef in the bay of their home town from the destruction of commercial dredging. Their actions set in motion a dramatic chain of events that no one could have foreseen. And soon they must make an impossible choice. Risk their own lives or face losing everything ...show more

Product details

  • 0-5
  • Paperback | 288 pages
  • 134 x 214 x 22mm | 281.23g
  • Oxford University Press
  • Oxford, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0192756222
  • 9780192756220
  • 479,188

Review quote

'A lyrical, emotive, engrossing adventure that carries its environmental message lightly.' Nicolette Jones, The Sunday Times 'An uplifting and beautifully told tale of life, loss, and dolphins, with much to appeal to fans of Lauren St John and Michael Morpurgo.' Fiona Noble, The Bookseller 'Gill Lewis, whose debut novel was the tender Sky Hawk, has excelled herself with White Dolphin, another moving and inspirational tale which is also a gripping action thriller... gracefully written and intense - you can almost feel the salty air brushing your face.' Martin Chilton, Telegraph 'Uplifting.' Evening Standard 'Packs a powerful emotional message into an exciting plot.' Daily Mail 'It's the absorbing story and setting (Lewis is as good as Helen Dunmore at evoking Cornwall) which grips the reader, but don't be surprised if your 10 year-old spends the rest of the holiday campaigning against dredging.' The Sunday Telegraphshow more

Rating details

1,032 ratings
4.06 out of 5 stars
5 40% (413)
4 34% (353)
3 20% (206)
2 4% (43)
1 2% (17)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X