Whimsy and Woe

Whimsy and Woe

3.86 (53 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$16.99

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

Description

After being abandoned by their thespian parents one afternoon while playing their weekly family game of hide-and-seek, Whimsy and Woe Mordaunt are left in the care of their austere Aunt Apoline. Forced to work in her boarding house year after year (looking after guests and smartly sharpening the thorns of every plant in the poisonous plant garden), Whimsy and Woe are losing hope their parents will return. Until one day, quite by accident, the siblings stumble upon a half-charred letter . . . a clue of darker secrets Aunt Apoline has hidden in the walls of the boarding house. Whimsy and Woe are launched on the first steps of a gripping journey--on trains, boats, hot-air balloons, and more--through ramshackle towns, sinister caves, and dark seas, searching for freedom and, with even greater hopes, for their parents. Dark, funny, darkly funny and funnily dark, Whimsy and Woe takes readers on an adventure with two intrepid siblings in a tale of mischief, monocles, mice, and mist. Perfect for fans of A Series of Unfortunate Events, The Mysterious Benedict Society, and The Name of This Book Is Secret.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 416 pages
  • 140 x 210mm
  • English
  • 1510738525
  • 9781510738522
  • 1,275,502

About Rebecca McRitchie

Rebecca McRitchie would love to tell you that she was raised by wolves in the depths of a snow-laden forest until she stumbled upon and saved a village from the fiery peril of a disgruntled dragon. But, truthfully, she can be found clutching several books, lurking in the aisle of a bookstore, or staring most resolutely at the blinking cursor on her computer screen. She is a children's book editor and lives in Sydney, Australia.
show more

Rating details

53 ratings
3.86 out of 5 stars
5 25% (13)
4 43% (23)
3 26% (14)
2 6% (3)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X