Where the Watermelons Grow

Where the Watermelons Grow

4.23 (622 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

Fans of The Thing About Jellyfish and A Snicker of Magic will be swept away by Cindy Baldwin's debut middle grade about a girl coming to terms with her mother's mental illness.

When twelve-year-old Della Kelly finds her mother furiously digging black seeds from a watermelon in the middle of the night and talking to people who aren't there, Della worries that it's happening again--that the sickness that put her mama in the hospital four years ago is back. That her mama is going to be hospitalized for months like she was last time.

With her daddy struggling to save the farm and her mama in denial about what's happening, it's up to Della to heal her mama for good. And she knows just how she'll do it: with a jar of the Bee Lady's magic honey, which has mended the wounds and woes of Maryville, North Carolina, for generations.

But when the Bee Lady says that the solution might have less to do with fixing Mama's brain and more to do with healing her own heart, Della must learn that love means accepting her mama just as she is.
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • Hardback | 256 pages
  • 148 x 218 x 27mm | 365g
  • HarperCollins
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062665863
  • 9780062665867
  • 113,765

Looking for beautiful books?

Visit our Beautiful Books page and find lovely books for kids, photography lovers and more. Shop now .

Review quote

"Baldwin has written a heartbreaking, yet heartening, story that explores mental illness and its effects on an entire family. Readers will connect with the novel's well-formed characters and be absorbed by the plot, which pulls no punches but doesn't overwhelm."--ALA Booklist (starred review) "In her debut novel, Baldwin presents a realistic portrayal of life with a mentally ill parent."--Publishers Weekly (starred review) "Cindy Baldwin's graceful debut is an ode to family and community. Hints of sweet magical realism touch Where the Watermelons Grow, balancing this exquisite novel's bittersweet authenticity."--Shelf Awareness (starred review) "Where the Watermelons Grow is a spot-on, insightful novel about a preteen learning to live with and accept a parent's mental illness."--BookPage.com "Where the Watermelons Grow takes a close look at the unpredictable and debilitating nature of schizophrenia. Baldwin writes with a genuine voice."--Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) "This has a tenderness that will appeal to fans of DiCamillo's Because of Winn-Dixie."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "Della's story is a reminder that even under the toughest rinds of troubles we can find the cool, sustaining sweetness of friendship."--Kirby Larson, author of the Newbery Honor Book Hattie Big Sky "[Della's] first-person narration is realistically earthy without crossing into gritty. This debut novel gushes with Southern charm. This story's as sweet as Della's daddy's watermelons but never saccharine."--Kirkus Reviews "Della's voice will tug at readers' heartstrings as she tries to hold her family together. Middle grade stories about mental illness, particularly those that focus on empathy and acceptance, are rare. This heartfelt story will stay with readers. A top choice."--School Library Journal (starred review)
show more

About Cindy Baldwin

Cindy Baldwin is a fiction writer, essayist, and poet. She grew up in North Carolina and still misses the sweet watermelons and warm accents on a daily basis. As a middle schooler, she kept a book under her bathroom sink to read over and over while fixing her hair or brushing her teeth, and she dreams of writing the kind of books readers can't bear to be without. She lives in Portland, Oregon, with her husband and daughter, surrounded by tall trees and wild blackberries. Where the Watermelons Grow is her debut novel. Learn more about Cindy at www.cindybaldwinbooks.com.
show more

Rating details

622 ratings
4.23 out of 5 stars
5 47% (294)
4 34% (210)
3 15% (94)
2 3% (20)
1 1% (4)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X