Where Futures End

Where Futures End

3.46 (931 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$17.99

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

"One of the most ambitious YA novels I've ever read."--Tommy Wallach, author of We All Looked Up Perfect for fans of innovative storytelling, like Marcus Sedgwick's The Ghosts of Heaven and David Mitchell's The Bone Clocks, Where Futures End is a collection of five time-spanning, interconnected novellas that weave a subtly science-fictional web stretching out from the present into the future, presenting eerily plausible possibilities for social media, corporate sponsorship, and humanity, as our world collides with a mysterious alternate universe. Five teens, five futures. Dylan develops a sixth sense that allows him to glimpse another world. Brixney must escape a debtor colony by finding a way to increase the number of hits on her social media feed so she'll attract corporate sponsorship. Epony goes "High Concept" and poses as an otherworldly being to recapture her boyfriend's attention. Reef struggles to survive in a city turned virtual gameboard. And Quinn uncovers the alarming secret that links them all. These are stories about a world that is destroying itself, and about the alternate world that might be its savior. Unless it's just the opposite.
show more

Product details

  • 0-5
  • Hardback | 304 pages
  • 148 x 214 x 27mm | 428g
  • Dial Books for Young Readers,US
  • United States
  • English
  • 080374160X
  • 9780803741607
  • 705,178

Review quote

Now a New York Public Library and Chicago Public Library Best Book for Teens! "One of the most ambitious YA novels I've ever read. Equal parts fantasy and science-fiction, and presented in five interlocking stories that take place over the course of a century, it's got something to offer just about every reader. Those of us who've been waiting for the next Cloud Atlas have finally found it."--Tommy Wallach, author of We All Looked Up "Midwinterblood meets Donnie Darko. Taut, tragic, and perfectly executed, Peevyhouse's brilliant debut is the intertwined tale of worlds colliding in which truth becomes myth, fate becomes destiny, and tomorrow's past must transcend yesterday's most dreamed of future."--Stephanie Kuehn, Morris Award Winning author of Charm & Strange "Tackles ideas about technology, the environment, time, other worlds, and how we relate to one another...This thoughtful, idea-driven read will be appreciated by those who like their dystopian fiction to be a bit more literary."--School Library Journal, starred review "Strange and compelling."--Kirkus, starred review "[An]ambitious first novel...that keeps readers on their toes. Fans of adventurous, challenging fiction from the likes of A.S. King, David Mitchell, and Marcus Sedgwick should find this an exciting ride."--Publishers Weekly "Peevyhouse's ambitious debut offers readers plenty to ponder."--Booklist "Richly intelligent. . .suitable for fans of Sedgwick's similarly complex The Ghosts of Heaven, and it's an ambitious look at how something that seems small can build into disaster over time. . . . This is one of those rare gems that truly transcend the covers--readers will be left contemplating this world, and many of the characters (even if they only get to know them for 50-60 pages in each novella), long after they complete the book."--BCCB "Extends far beyond the usual realm of young adult fiction. Consider it dystopia, science fiction, fantasy, or weird fiction, with a spattering of realistic struggles in alternative, uncertain futures. Each novella stands alone, with its own characters and story arc, but when pieced together, they present an overarching mystery that builds slowly and intensifies. There are larger issues here: contemplating purpose, technology in society, the wealth gap, addiction, and desperation. . . . This will appeal to fans of M.T. Anderson or Patrick Ness."--VOYA
show more

About Janet Lee Carey

Parker Peevyhouse teaches part-time at a tutoring center and a K-8 school. She loves puzzles, games, and riddles of all kinds and can't pass up a chance to take in California's amazing scenery. She lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her family. Where Futures End is her debut novel.
show more

Rating details

931 ratings
3.46 out of 5 stars
5 20% (189)
4 29% (270)
3 32% (297)
2 15% (137)
1 4% (38)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X