When You Wake and Find ME Gone

When You Wake and Find ME Gone

3.78 (437 ratings by Goodreads)
  • Paperback
By (author) 

List price: US$16.58

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks


So how did you meet him? I hear you asking. Was it love at first sight? Was he a fellow teacher? Did you meet in a pub? This might be hard to believe, but the first time I looked into your father's eyes, he was holding a gun to my head. But first, let me explain ...Everything is coming together for twenty-year-old Kit. She loves her new subjects at uni, she has some great friends, her big country family is safely three hours drive away, and the lecturer she's been idolising for months seems interested in her. Kit's life is taking off! But then there's an accident, the family calls Kit back, and suddenly all her certainties are shattered. Kit takes off to Ireland in search of answers. What she finds is a past dominated by violence, a present where the history still lives and a man who can help her understand ...
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • Paperback | 444 pages
  • 130 x 198 x 32mm | 413g
  • Hawthorn, Australia
  • 0143000314
  • 9780143000310

About Maureen McCarthy

Maureen McCarthy, the ninth of ten children, grew up on a farm near Yea in Victoria. After working for a while as an art teacher, Maureen became a full-time script writer. Her novels include Ganglands, Cross My Heart (shortlisted for the 1993 NSW Premier's Award, the 1994 Victorian Premier's Award, the 1994 SA Festival Award and the 1994 Multicultural Children's Literature Award), Chain of Hearts (shortlisted for the Ethel Turner Prize in the 2000 NSW Premier's Literary Awards), Flash Jack and the In Between series, which was adapted from scripts Maureen co-wrote with Shane Brennan for the SBS TV mini-series. Her bestselling and much-loved book Queen Kat, Carmel and St Jude Get a Life was made into a highly successful four-part mini-series produced by Trout Films in association with the Australian Broadcasting Corporation. When You Wake and Find me Gone was published in 2002.
show more

Rating details

437 ratings
3.78 out of 5 stars
5 23% (101)
4 42% (184)
3 27% (119)
2 5% (21)
1 3% (12)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X