When We Danced at the End of the Pier

When We Danced at the End of the Pier : A Heartbreaking Novel of Family Tragedy and Wartime Romance

4.49 (167 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Brighton 1930: Maureen O'Connell is a carefree girl, but her family is on the brink of tragedy, war is looming and life will never be the same again. Jack and Nelson have always been dear friends to Maureen. Despite their different backgrounds, they've seen each other through thick and thin. As Maureen blossoms from a little girl into a young woman, the candle she's always held for Jack burns bright. But just as she's found love, war wrenches them apart. The man she cherishes with all her heart is leaving. When the bombs start to fall, Maureen and her family find themselves living in the most dangerous of times. With Jack no longer by her side and Nelson at war, Maureen has never felt more alone. Can she look to a brighter future? And will she find the true happiness she's dreamt of? An utterly gripping and heart-wrenching story about the enduring power of love, hope and friendship during the darkest of days. Perfect for fans of Pam Jenoff, Nadine Dorries and Diney Costeloe. What readers are saying about When We Danced at the End of the Pier: 'A beautiful and emotional read. I don't think I can remember the last time a book moved me to tears so many times whilst reading it. I shed tears of happiness as well as sadness. This is one author who creates characters that will totally capture the readers hearts and I know that them and their story will remain with me for a very long time to come.' By the Letter Book Reviews 'What an amazing, sensitively written, emotional, poignant and absolutely wonderful story! The author's writing is exquisite and we are drawn into Maureen's world, feeling for all the characters every step of the way.' Renita D'Silva 'Oh my word I honestly can't remember the last time a book made me feel so emotional. Well this book made me laugh one minute and bawl my eyes out the next. It was absolutely brilliant. Right from the first page I was glued to it and just didn't want to put it down. Sandy Taylor is one amazing writer and the way she writes and describes the character really pulls you into the story. I can't recommend this book highly enough. It is simply amazing.' Goodreads Review 'The story was deeply emotional and moving...All the characters are endearing and touching. The dramatic scenes are heart-wrenching...The author really managed to write a beautiful tale about family, true love and friendship. If you are a bit of a softie, expect a few tears rolling down your cheeks!' La Biblio De Caroshow more

Product details

  • Paperback | 362 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 19mm | 354g
  • Bookouture
  • United States
  • English
  • black & white illustrations
  • 1786811553
  • 9781786811554
  • 572,207

Rating details

167 ratings
4.49 out of 5 stars
5 66% (111)
4 21% (35)
3 9% (15)
2 2% (4)
1 1% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X