When Washington Was in Vogue

When Washington Was in Vogue

3.86 (143 ratings by Goodreads)

List price: US$23.95

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

A literary event, this love story was written and set in the 1920s during the Harlem Renaissance and is being published in book form for the very first time.

In the tradition of Dorothy West's The Wedding and Nella Larsen's Passing, When Washington Was in Vogue casts a loving but critical eye on Black high society of 1920s Washington, D.C. A novel told in letters, this sly, humorous story was first published anonymously in the Black journal The Messenger from 1925 to 1926. This is the first time When Washington Was in Vogue is being published as a book.

In When Washington Was in Vogue, protagonist Davy Carr has just moved to Washington, D.C., and is a member of its Black bourgeoisie. In his letters to his friend Bob in Harlem, Davy recounts his growing romance with Caroline, a beautiful, sharp-witted flapper who tries any number of ways to get Davy's attention. When Washington Was in Vogue details Caroline's earnest but coquettish efforts to woo Davy; it also chronicles Davy's wavering stoicism as he struggles to admit he's attracted to -- and moved by -- this much younger, darker-skinned woman. Along the way, Davy writes his impressions of race, politics, social mores, and the state of Black America.

At its heart, however, When Washington Was in Vogue is an old-fashioned love story. A look into African-American aristocracy in the early part of the twentieth century, this Victorianesque novel about modern romance is filled with the drama and style of one of the most hopeful cultural moments in African-American history. Together with Professor Adam McKible's introduction and Professor Emily Bernard's commentary, this undiscovered story offers a fascinating and memorable reading experience.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 320 pages
  • 147.8 x 217.9 x 27.2mm | 467.21g
  • HarperCollins
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 0060555459
  • 9780060555450

Rating details

143 ratings
3.86 out of 5 stars
5 31% (45)
4 34% (49)
3 24% (35)
2 8% (12)
1 1% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X