When the Stars Threw Down Their Spears

When the Stars Threw Down Their Spears

4.18 (334 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"Buy this novel for readers of Franny Billingsley and Dia Calhoun as well as fans of urban fantasy." -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review of Tyger Tyger: The Goblin Wars, Book One Locked doors are opening, and magical creatures are tumbling through mysterious portals from Mag Mell, the world-between-worlds, into the streets of Chicago. Meanwhile, the romance between seventeen-year-old Teagan, who is part goblin, and the alluring bad boy Finn Mac Cumhaill is heating up . . . which is awkward, to say the least, considering he is bound by a family curse to fight goblins his entire life. Celtic mythology, adventure, and paranormal romance fuse in the electrifying finale of the critically acclaimed Goblin Wars trilogy.show more

Product details

  • 0-5
  • Hardback | 388 pages
  • 142.24 x 210.82 x 35.56mm | 521.63g
  • HOUGHTON MIFFLIN
  • Boston, MA, United States
  • English
  • 0547739648
  • 9780547739649
  • 910,912

Review quote

"This spectacular conclusion will satisfy fans and lead new readers into a complex world with fascinating magic and appealing characters." --Kirkus, starred review "Brimming with heroism, violence, romance, and tragedy. . . . This will more than satisfy series fans--it will make them laugh, fill them with wonder, and uplift them in the end." --Booklist Online "Endearing characters, fast-paced action, and an engaging heroine make this conclusion to the [Goblin Wars] trilogy another good read for fans." --School Library Journalshow more

Our customer reviews

This is one of those series that I am truly sad to see go. I truly fell in love with The Goblin Wars... the characters, the story, the mythology. I am sad that it is over, but it ended beautifully. I really have enjoyed the writing style the author used for these books, especially in the dialogue. I realize that the same thing that I love about it is something that often annoys others. There is a bit of a frenetic pace to it, with seemingly random bits flying back and forth. But I think this fits perfectly with a household that is chock full of people and Mag Mell creatures. That doesn't make for a calm, quiet, and ordered household and the dialogue adds flavor to the chaos that that must be. The characters in these books were especially vibrant and unique in their own ways. Even those that you didn't necessarily love, they had their good points. And the opposite was true as well, making them all a bit more relatable. The Turtles, somewhat Mafioso in their lifestyles, were among my favorites of the supporting cast of characters. They were often hilarious and their matter-of-fact Mafioso ways applied to the paranormal was really fun. And Jing, Jing who was not so secretly crushing on Abby. I loved his acceptance, his humor, his willingness to help. He provided some great down-to-earth humor. There was sadness in this book, more so than in the others. Characters we weren't supposed to like died, but so did some we hav come to love. There were also times when feelings about various characters began to change... starting to care about those we hadn't and starting to dislike those we previously loved. Things to love about When the Stars Threw Down Their Spears... --The characters. As I said before, there were some for whom, over the course of the book, my feelings changed. That kept it interesting. --The deep dive into the mythology and characters of Mag Mell. My recommendation: A beautiful ending to a wonderful series! A must read!show more
by Kim
This is it. And I probably would still be sitting on it if the e-arc didn't expire back in June. That's how I am about series that I love. I hate for the last book. I want to know what happens but I don't want it to end. But there was something different with THE STARS THREW DOWN THEIR SPEARS. There was so much story left to be told. Not just loose ends to be tied up, but another journey into Mag Mell, a love story to finish, one way or another, and a story to be told. This was no wrap up book. This was a story within itself. And I was so blown away by this book it made me want to start the series all over again. So there are so many characters in this novel I can't even begin to list all the main ones. What I will say is that there is even more depth to the characters than ever before. Secondary characters become primary characters and Abby, Teagan, Aiden and Finn become much more to each other. "People will die" is true and you just have to brace yourself. The first time is shocking and I cried. I've come to love these characters. I know their histories, their life stories and it took a little bit of me every time I lost one of them. But some people had to die and the ones that did made sense. As Teagan and Aiden's mother always said, "The Irish don't have happy endings." The electricity between Finn and Teagan is like lightning. Sparks fly. Mountains move. The world holds it's breath. I'm telling you, these two have chemistry! And I might have a slight crush on Finn. He's Irish for one so he's got that accent thing going on. He's never out of his comfort zone no matter where he is. He just kind of always lands on his feet. Oh and he goes nowhere without duct tape. He's pretty sure it can fix anything. Teagan is still focused on her plan after she kills Fear Doirich of course, but she needs to fit Finn in her life now. The world in this one is complicated. The world where Teagan lives with her family is also inhabited with scary creatures and good creatures that only those with the sight can see. So her dad can't see them and talks to walls when he thinks he's talking to a cat like creature. Mamieo isn't exactly tolerant of these creatures since a goblin killed her husband who was The MacCumhaill. But Mag Mell, which is very hard to describe, is filled with creatures, good and bad and sometimes humans. Mag Mell itself isn't evil, it was just overrun with evil creatures. And Teagan can "hear" the trees of Mag Mell calling to her asking for help because they are dying. The story is simple but complex. Easy- kill Fear Doirich. Hard- get back into Mag Mell which is sealed. Sneak in so that no one knows they are there. Getting into the heart of the city without being detected and then killing Fear Doirich, not an easy thing to do even if they get that far. And above all, Teagan wants to save Mag Mell. My thoughts- This was way more than what I expected! I was not expecting an even better novel than the last two. I wasn't expecting to be completely floored by the losses. The story didn't go exactly as I thought it would. Actually, I had no clue how it would work out. Fear Doirich can be anywhere at any time and anybody can work for him so being caught in Mag Mell is a constant danger. So I commend Kersten Hamilton for figuring out this complicated plot. I wouldn't know how to save my favorite characters! The story is complete. No loose endings. There is a little humor as the book wraps up. Even though it sounds dark and the story does have some dark parts, there are some lighter moments, a couple of romances and possibly a happy ending for some of the Irish. I absolutely recommend this complete series but if you've read the first two and were thinking of not finishing the series, don't do it. This book is easily the best in the series even though I've loved them all. I think Kersten Hamilton put her heart into this one and it shows. It's absolutely a worthy finale to a fabulous fantasy series!show more
by Heather Rosdol
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X