When Elephants Fly
8%
off

When Elephants Fly

4.32 (285 ratings by Goodreads)

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A Parade Most Anticipated Book of Fall 2018!
A YA Books Central Buzzworthy Books of Fall 2018!
A Publishers Lunch Fall Buzz Book!Don't miss one of the most heartwarming young adult novels of the year. Perfect for fans of Water for Elephants, Wonder and All the Bright Places, When Elephants Fly shows that how we choose to live our lives matters, and that there are some battles worth fighting even if it means losing yourself. T. Lily Decker is a high school senior with a twelve-year plan: avoid stress, drugs, alcohol and boyfriends, and take regular psych quizzes administered by her best friend, Sawyer, to make sure she's not developing schizophrenia.Genetics are not on Lily's side. When she was seven, her mother, who had paranoid schizophrenia, tried to kill her. And a secret has revealed that Lily's odds are even worse than she thought. Still, there's a chance to avoid triggering the mental health condition, if Lily can live a careful life from ages eighteen to thirty, when schizophrenia most commonly manifests.But when a newspaper internship results in Lily witnessing a mother elephant try to kill her three-week-old calf, Swifty, Lily can't abandon the story or the calf. With Swifty in danger of dying from grief, Lily must choose whether to risk everything, including her sanity and a first love, on a desperate road trip to save the calf's life, perhaps finding her own version of freedom along the way.
show more

Out of ideas for the holidays?

Visit our Gift Guides and find our recommendations on what to get friends and family during the holiday season. Shop now .

Product details

  • Hardback | 400 pages
  • 147 x 216 x 33mm | 499g
  • English
  • Original ed.
  • 1335012362
  • 9781335012364
  • 807,940

Review quote

"When Elephants Fly is a compelling read, beautifully threading the complex relationship between mothers and daughters, mental illness and elephants."-National Book Award finalist Carrie Arcos"Not only does this book show the reader the perils of keeping elephants in zoos and having them perform in circuses, it does it with heart, grace, and imagination." -Nina Berry, author of The Notorious Pagan Jones and the Otherkin series"Unlike anything I've read before in YA, When Elephants Fly is both a fascinating adventure and a stirring coming-of-age novel. There are few clear heroes or villains, and no easy answers for Lily as she moves into an uncertain future. The bond between elephant and girl is deftly wrought-reminiscent of Alec and the Black in Walter Farley's classic, The Black Stallion, but for an older, contemporary audience." -Sara Zarr, author of Gem & Dixie, National Book Award finalist"When Elephants Fly will inspire readers to love through fear, to love themselves and their humanity, to love the world." - Jenny Torres Sanchez, author of The Fall of Innocence"As much a story about mental health as it is about compassion and evolution." -School Library Journal"Fischer's story encompasses the themes of love, courage, and forgiveness with lively, well-rounded characters, not the least of whom is Swifty. Lily is especially vibrant as she evolves from her quiet, safe existence into someone who recognizes the difference between simply being alive and living." -Booklist"Compelling...Provides a relevant and relatable character in an often overlooked subject area." -TeenReads.com"Nancy Richardson Fischer has managed to combine so many important topics-family, mental illness, extinction, animal welfare, and adolescence-into an accessible, moving and extraordinary story." -Ellen C. O'Connell, Executive Vice President, Global, Space for Giants"This book was an absolute pleasure to read. I encourage everyone to read this inspirational book and discuss mental illness and tolerance and the need to improve wildlife protection." -Katie Rowe, Pritzker Genius Award nominee, Co-founder Reteti Elephant Sanctuary"This moving coming-of-age adventure story is a captivating page-turner that crescendos to a valiant and surprisingly delightful conclusion filled with hope for both humans and elephants." -Patricia Sims, Filmmaker, When Elephants Were Young. Founder, World Elephant Day
show more

Rating details

285 ratings
4.32 out of 5 stars
5 48% (137)
4 39% (112)
3 10% (29)
2 2% (5)
1 1% (2)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X