When Ash Rains Down

When Ash Rains Down : A Kingdom Come Novel: The Legend of Shady Creek Trilogy

3.73 (99 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Edited by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

This book contains a BONUS short story, Before the Ashes: Kari's Story, plus a sneak peek at When Smoke Rains Down! There are three things Julia needs to come to terms with: 1. Angels are real. 2. The boy Julia is in love with is an undercover angel. 3. Her dad may be a demon. Being a teenager in Shady Creek, WI just got a whole lot harder... and a whole lot scarier. Julia spent her childhood putting her life in order after abandonment, but now, it's all coming unraveled again. Julia received a necklace containing the songs of the angels from her dad when she was four. When she was eleven, he abandoned her family and the necklace went silent. Broke and heartbroken, Julia, along with her mom and little brother, moved from hotels to trailers until her mom finally found an apartment above the café she now owns. At seventeen, Julia's doing everything she can to maintain security for her family, but now her necklace seems to have come to life once again. And that's not all that's changing. When a robber attempts to steal from their diner, the necklace blazes and burns her chest. Pain in her back is nearly unbearable as the thief transforms before her eyes... into something demonic. When demon after demon threaten her home, family, and friends, Julia realizes there may have been something more behind her dad's disappearance. And wherever he went, there may be something--or someone--dangerous now after her. Facing an explosion, a kidnapping, and battles in a realm other than Earth, with a Guardian angel who's as infuriating as he is attractive, Julia has to come to terms with the fact that she's not quite human, and fending off demons is nothing, once the devil comes for her. But it may be too late to save the ones she loves by the time she accepts the challenge he's putting before her. When Ash Rains Down is a contemporary paranormal novel for fans of stories with strong female protagonists and epic battle scenes. Fans of City of Bones and Unearthly will be captivated by this unique take on angels and demons. When Ash Rains Down is the first book in debut author Cecelia Earl's Kingdom Come series. The second book, When Smoke Rains Down, is also available, along with a companion short story and novella. Book three, When Fire Rains Down and more companion stories will be out in 2018. Join Cecelia's newsletter list so you don't miss a new release! http: www.ceceliaearl.com "Gripping!" Amazon Reviewer ..".an original take on angels..." Amazon Reviewer "I couldn't wait to escape into When Ash Rains Down every time I picked it up." Amazon Reviewer "A fascinating first book in a series..." Amazon Reviewer When Ash Rains Down is a story of hardship and hope. Cecelia Earl brings humanity to this fantasy tale. Julia isn't perfect by any means, but her striving, her misguidance, and her willingness to give up everything for her family is easy to relate to. When Ash Rains Down is surreal, idealistic, and full of heart, with a moral tale at the center, but also has a balanced side of loss, struggle, and tragedy. It's fast paced, and follows a small portion of Julia's life, but in a way that feels like just the beginning of her story. It almost has a metaphorical tone with what is happening in Julia's life and then the coinciding apocalyptic angels versus demons battle. When her father left, he took away her happiness and her faith. She was taught about angels singing and praying at night, but his leaving took that from her. She goes from this carefree spirit as a child to a determined and materially-driven person, who is then thrown into a higher power of the world. There's a good lesson in Julia's arc. Readers' Favorite
show more

The Best Books of 2018

Check out the top books of the year on our page Best Books of 2018. Shop now .

Product details

  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 133 x 203 x 18mm | 367g
  • English
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 1986741117
  • 9781986741118

Looking for beautiful books?

Visit our Beautiful Books page and find lovely books for kids, photography lovers and more. Shop now .

About Cecelia Earl

Cecelia Earl credits her passion for penning fiction to a mandatory sixth grade study hall. She could have gotten her math done, but instead chose to write a teen mystery series, loosely inspired by Sweet Valley High, Trixie Belden, and Nancy Drew--her favorite series at the time. She never shared the stories with anyone, and time moved on. Sadly, she had no more mandatory study halls during which to write. It wasn't until she had three children, worked full time as a teacher, and kept a home relatively tidy that she realized her passion for writing wasn't something she had to give up with childhood and the end of study halls. Four years and five novels later, she wrote the first book in the Kingdom Come trilogy. She lives with her husband, three sons, and male dog near enough to Green Bay, WI that her refrigerator is always stocked with cheese, and the first colors her children learned were green and gold. (She happily spends time with her female characters whenever the testosterone levels get too high in the house.) She can usually be found snuggling with her kids, reading on the couch, drinking strong coffee, or sipping from a glass of Malbec. Once in a while she vacuums.
show more

Rating details

99 ratings
3.73 out of 5 stars
5 33% (33)
4 26% (26)
3 26% (26)
2 9% (9)
1 5% (5)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X